Status Report

Space-Weather-Outlook #03- 2

By SpaceRef Editor
January 14, 2003
Filed under , ,
Space-Weather-Outlook #03- 2
sun

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center

Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER ADVISORY OUTLOOK #03- 2

2003 January 14 at 12:04 p.m. MST (2003 January 14 1904 UTC)

**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****

Summary For January 6-12

Space weather reached minor levels during the week. Three category R1
(minor) radio blackouts occurred over the past week due to energetic
solar flares on the sun. The largest of these occurred at 4:33 P.M.
MST (2333 UTC) on January 8th. For a list of adverse system effects
related to space weather storms, please refer to the NOAA Space Weather
Scales.

Outlook For January 15-21

Space weather may reach minor levels with R1 (minor) radio blackouts
possible. A number of slightly active sunspot regions currently on the
sun have the potential to produce energetic flares and radio blackouts.
A category G1 (minor) geomagnetic storm is possible on January 14
-15th and again on January 23 – 24th due to recurrent coronal holes
which produce high-speed solar wind. Geomagnetic storming is possible
when the high-speed solar wind interacts with the Earth-s magnetic
field.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. For more
information, including email services, see SEC’s Space Weather
Advisories Web site http://sec.noaa.gov/advisories or (303) 497-5127.
The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan at
[email protected] or (303) 497-6288.

SpaceRef staff editor.