Status Report

Space Weather Bulletin #01-7: Major Solar Flare and Solar Radiation Storm

By SpaceRef Editor
November 4, 2001
Filed under , ,

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center
Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER BULLETIN #01- 7

2001 November 04 at 04:44 p.m. MST (2001 November 04 2344 UT)

**** MAJOR SOLAR FLARE AND SOLAR RADIATION STORM ****

A major solar flare occurred at 9:20 am MST (1620 UTC) on 04 November.
The resulting radio blackout reached the R3 level on the NOAA scale.
The flare was shortly followed by a strong solar radiation storm which
has reached the S3 level on the NOAA scale and is continuing in
progress at this time.

R3 radio blackouts result in widespread HF radio communication outages
on the dayside of the Earth and can also degrade low frequency
navigation signals.

S3 solar radiation storms can lead to single-event upsets in spacecraft
electronics, noise in spacecraft imaging systems, and reduction in the
efficiency of solar panels. Radiation storms also cause degraded HF
radio propagation in the polar regions.

There is a good chance for a geomagnetic storm to occur in response to
today’s solar event, beginning around 8:00 pm MST on 05 November (0300
UTC on 06 November). The storm is expected to reach the G2 level on the
NOAA scale.

G2 geomagnetic storms can lead to minor problems with electrical power
systems, spacecraft operations, communications systems, and some
navigational systems.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. More
information is available at SEC’s Web site http://sec.noaa.gov or
(303) 497-5127. The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan
at [email protected] or (303) 497-6288.

SpaceRef staff editor.