Status Report

Space Weather Advisory Outlook #03- 4

By SpaceRef Editor
January 28, 2003
Filed under , ,
Space Weather Advisory Outlook  #03- 4
sun

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center
Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER ADVISORY OUTLOOK #03- 4

2003 January 28 at 10:01 a.m. MST (2003 January 28 1701 UTC)

**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****

Summary For January 20-26

Space weather reached minor levels during the week. Five category R1
(minor) radio blackouts occurred over the past week due to energetic
solar flares on the sun. The largest of these occurred at 06:43 A.M.
MST (1243 UTC) on January 23rd. Isolated geomagnetic storm periods
reaching G1 (minor) levels were also observed. For a list of adverse
system effects related to space weather storms, please refer to the
NOAA Space Weather Scales.

Outlook For January 29-February 4

Space weather may reach minor levels with possible G1 (minor)
geomagnetic storm periods on 30-31 January. These likely minor storm
periods are due to a recurrent coronal hole which produces high-speed
solar wind. Geomagnetic storming is possible when the high-speed solar
wind interacts with the Earth-s magnetic field.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. For more
information, including email services, see SEC’s Space Weather
Advisories Web site http://sec.noaa.gov/advisories or (303) 497-5127.
The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan at
[email protected] or (303) 497-6288.

SpaceRef staff editor.