Status Report

NOAA SEC Space Weather Outlook #01-42 — 16 Oct 2001

By SpaceRef Editor
October 16, 2001
Filed under , ,

SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK #01- 42

2001 October 16 at 11:37 a.m. MDT (2001 October 16 1737 UT)

**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****

Summary For October 8-14

Space weather ranged from category 1 (minor) to category 3 (strong) on
the NOAA Space Weather Scales. A Coronal Mass Ejection (CME) occurred
at 5:13 a.m. MDT on October 9 (2001 October 09 1113 UT) resulting in a
category R1 (moderate) radio blackout. The shock from this CME arrived
at earth at 11:00 a.m. MDT on October 11. The shock arrival resulted
in a category G1 geomagnetic storm on October 11 and a category G2
geomagnetic storm on October 12, 2001. For a list of adverse system
effects related to space weather storms, please refer to the NOAA Space
Weather Scales.

Outlook For October 17-23

Space weather is expected to be at minor levels during most of the
period. An isolated category R1 (minor) radio blackout will be possible
during the period.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. More
information is available at SEC’s Web site http://sec.noaa.gov or
(303) 497-5127. The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan
at [email protected] or (303) 497-6288.

SpaceRef staff editor.