Status Report

NOAA SEC Space Weather Outlook #01-41 — 9 Oct 2001

By SpaceRef Editor
October 9, 2001
Filed under , ,

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center
Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK #01- 41

2001 October 09 at 02:33 p.m. MDT (2001 October 09 2033 UT)

**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****

Summary For October 1-7
Space weather ranged from category 1 (minor) to category 3 (strong) on
the NOAA Space Weather Scales. A category S3 (strong) solar radiation
storm occurred during October 1 – 5 in the aftermath of a major solar
flare that occurred on the Sun’s western limb. The same major flare was
responsible for a category R2 (moderate) radio blackout at 11:15 p.m.
MDT on September 30 (2001 October 01 0515 UT). A series of coronal mass
ejections (CME) passed Earth during October 1 – 4. The passages
resulted in geomagnetic storms which ranged from category G1 (minor) to
G3 (strong) levels with the most intense storms observed on October 3.
For a list of adverse system effects related to space weather storms,
please refer to the NOAA Space Weather Scales.

Outlook For October 10-16

Space weather is expected to be at minor levels during most of the
period. An isolated category R1 (minor) radio blackout will be possible
during the period. Category G1 (minor) geomagnetic storm conditions
are expected during October 11 – 12. An increasing trend is expected
to begin near the end of the period.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. More
information is available at SEC’s Web site http://sec.noaa.gov or
(303) 497-5127. The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan
at [email protected] or (303) 497-6288.

SpaceRef staff editor.