Status Report

NOAA SEC Space Weather Outlook #01-39 — 25 Sep 2001

By SpaceRef Editor
September 25, 2001
Filed under , ,

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center
Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK #01- 39

2001 September 25 at 02:22 p.m. MDT (2001 September 25 2022 UT)

**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****

Summary For September 17-23

Space weather reached moderate levels for the third consecutive week due
to major flare activity. A category R2 (moderate) radio blackout
occurred at 9:50 a.m. MDT on September 17 (2001 September 17 1550 UT)
due to a major solar flare. Isolated category R1 (minor) radio
blackouts occurred during the period as well. Category G1 (minor)
geomagnetic storm conditions occurred on September 23 due to a CME
passage. Note: a category S3 (strong) solar radiation storm began on
September 24 and was in progress at the time of this advisory.

Outlook For September 26-October 2

Space weather is expected to be at moderate to severe levels. Isolated
category R2 (moderate) radio blackouts are expected during the period.
There will also be a slight chance for a category R3 (strong) radio
blackout. Category G3 (strong) – G4 (severe) geomagnetic storm
conditions will be possible during September 26 – 27 due an expected
CME passage. The category S3 (strong) solar radiation storm that began
on September 24 is expected to continue through the first half of the
period.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. More
information is available at SEC’s Web site http://sec.noaa.gov or
(303) 497-5127. The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan
at [email protected] or (303) 497-6288.

SpaceRef staff editor.