Status Report

NOAA SEC Space Weather Outlook #01- 38 — 18 Sep 2001

By SpaceRef Editor
September 18, 2001
Filed under , ,

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center
Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK #01- 38

2001 September 18 at 02:21 p.m. MDT (2001 September 18 2021 UT)

**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****

Summary For September 10-16

Space weather was at minor to moderate levels during the period. A major
solar flare resulted in a category R2 (moderate) radio blackout at 9:53
p.m. MDT on September 15 (2001 September 16 0353 UT). Isolated category
R1 (minor) radio blackouts occurred during most days due to
moderate-sized solar flares. Brief category G1 geomagnetic storm
conditions were detected on September 13 as a weak coronal transient
passed Earth. A moderate-sized solar flare caused a brief category S1
(minor) solar radiation storm on September 15. For a list of adverse
system effects associated with space weather storms, please refer to
the NOAA Space Weather Scales.

Outlook For September 19-25

Space weather is expected to be at mostly minor levels. Isolated
category R1 (minor) radio blackouts are expected with an outside chance
for an isolated category R2 (moderate) radio blackout early in the
period. There will be a chance for brief category G1 (minor)
geomagnetic storm conditions on September 19.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. More
information is available at SEC’s Web site http://sec.noaa.gov or
(303) 497-5127. The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan
at [email protected] or (303) 497-6288.

SpaceRef staff editor.