Status Report

NOAA SEC Space Weather Advisory Outlook #03- 48

By SpaceRef Editor
December 2, 2003
Filed under , ,

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER ADVISORY OUTLOOK #03- 48

2003 December 02 at 01:13 p.m. MST (2003 December 02 2013 UTC)

**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****

Summary For November 24-30

No significant space weather was observed during the past week. At
the time of this Outlook issue, a Category R1 (minor) radio blackout
was observed on December 2nd and a category S1 (minor) solar radiation
storm began at 9:05 a.m. MST (1505 UTC) on December 2nd. This activity
is due to an active sunspot region that is rotating off the visible
side of the sun. For a list of adverse system effects related to space
weather storms, please refer to the NOAA Space Weather Scales.

Outlook For December 3-9

Space weather for the next week is expected to reach minor levels with a
chance of moderate level activity. The category S1 (minor) solar
radiation storm currently in progress is expected to end by December
3rd. There is a slight chance that this radiation storm may reach
category S2 (moderate) levels on December 2nd. Late in the week a
category G1 geomagnetic storm is possible as high speed solar wind from
a favorably positioned coronal hole on the sun is expected to interact
with Earth’s magnetic field.

For current space weather conditions please refer to:

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. For more
information, including email services, see SEC’s Space Weather
Advisories Web site http://sec.noaa.gov/advisories or (303) 497-5127.
The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan at
Barbara.McGehan@noaa.gov or (303) 497-6288.

SpaceRef staff editor.