Status Report

NOAA SEC Space Weather Advisory Outlook #03- 45

By SpaceRef Editor
November 12, 2003
Filed under , ,

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center
Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER ADVISORY OUTLOOK #03- 45

2003 November 12 at 12:37 p.m. MST (2003 November 12 1937 UTC)

**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****

Summary For November 3-11

Space weather during the past week reached extreme levels. Category R5
(extreme) radio blackout occurred on November 4th at 12:50 p.m. MST
(1950 UTC). The source of the R5 radio blackout was a major flare from
the large and dynamic sunspot region, known as NOAA Active Region 486.
Category R1 (minor) radio blackouts was also observed on November 5th.
A solar radiation storm was in progress for most of the past week. A
category S3 (strong) storm was in effect at the beginning of the
summary period, November 3rd. By November 4th and 5th the storm levels
decreased to a category S2 (moderate). The solar radiation storm
further decreased to the S1 (minor) level on November 6th and 7th and
ended around 5:30 a.m. MST (1230 UTC) on November 7th. Three brief
geomagnetic storms were observed during the past week. On November
4th, a brief category G3 (strong) geomagnetic storm occurred due to
clouds of energetic particle interacting with Earth’s magnetic field.
This cloud of energetic particles came from a major flare on November
2nd. A brief category G1 (minor) geomagnetic storm was observed on
November 6th. Late in the week a category G2 (moderate) geomagnetic
storm was observed in association with high speed solar winds
interacting with Earth’s magnetic field. For a list of adverse system
effects related to space weather storms, please refer to the NOAA Space
Weather Scales.

Outlook For November 12-18

Space weather for the next week is expected to reach extreme levels. A
category G1 to G2 geomagnetic storm is expected to continue through
most of the next week due to a large coronal hole that produces high
speed solar wind. A category R1 to R2 radio blackout is possible
particularly after November 13th when an active sunspot region rotate
onto the visible side of the sun.

For current space weather conditions please refer to:

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA,
USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services
and other observatories, universities, and institutions. For more
information, including email services, see SEC’s Space Weather
Advisories Web site http://sec.noaa.gov/advisories or (303) 497-5127.
The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan at
Barbara.McGehan@noaa.gov or (303) 497-6288.

SpaceRef staff editor.