Status Report

NASA Mission Safety Climate and Culture Survey

By SpaceRef Editor
February 19, 2004
Filed under ,

(NASA Civil Service Employees and Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) Employees Only)

On February 17, you received an InfoCom e-mail message from Mr. James
Jennings regarding a Mission Safety Climate and Culture Survey. This
survey is intended to provide a baseline measurement of specific culture
elements that have been shown to be important to safety assurance and
overall organizational excellence.

You can take the survey on-line, either at work or at home, using any
computer with Internet access. You can access the survey site in two ways:
(1) click on the appropriate URL/hyperlink provided below based on your
position (Manager or Non-Manager); or (2) enter the appropriate
URL/hyperlink into the address/location window of your web browser.

Access the survey using the appropriate URL/hyperlink below:

Managers: [DELETED]

Non-Managers: [DELETED]

All survey responses are completely confidential. Behavioral Science
Technology (BST) is assisting NASA in this effort to understand
characteristics of our current organizational and safety climate and
culture. BST will analyze the data and provide results to NASA and JPL in
aggregate forms only. You do not need a password to enter the site, nor
will your e-mail address be tracked.

Your personal input and commitment are crucial to this effort. This survey
will take approximately 30 minutes to complete. The website will be open
until February 26, 2004, at 8:00 p.m. PST. You must complete and submit
the entire questionnaire at one time. There is no capability to return to
the questionnaire if you close the window before submitting.

If you have any technical difficulties or have questions regarding the
instrument or the website, please e-mail or call Kevin Rickard at or (805) 646-4595, extension 414. If you have
other than technical issues/questions about this effort, please send an
e-mail to

Thanks for your participation in this very important effort.

SpaceRef staff editor.