Status Report

40th Anniversary of Aryabhata Launch

By SpaceRef Editor
April 24, 2015
Filed under ,

On the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the launch of India’s first satellite Aryabhata, a function was organised at ISRO Satellite Centre, Bangalore on Sunday, April 19, 2015 to observe that historic event. Prof U R Rao, Project Director of Aryabhata and former Chairman, ISRO, Dr K Kasturirangan, former Chairman, ISRO who was actively involved in the Aryabhata project, and Dr K Radhakrishnan, former Chairman, ISRO were the prominent dignitaries who graced the occasion. Mr A S Kiran Kumar, Chairman, ISRO and Secretary, Department of Space, presided over the function. Dr M Annadurai, Director, ISRO Satellite Centre, formally welcomed the gathering. Prof Rao, father of the Indian satellite programme, delivered the keynote address on the occasion as chief guest. Dr. K Kasturirangan, who was the guest of honour, reminisced about his association with Aryabhata Project. Dr. K Radhakrishnan, former Chairman of ISRO, recollected the excitement created by Aryabhata Launch. ISRO Chairman Mr. A S Kiran Kumar delivered the presidential address. Dr. V Jayaraman, Prof Satish Dhawan Professor/Former Director, NRSC and Mr. Y S Rajan, former Scientific Secretary, ISRO remembered the challenging days of Aryabhata Project.

Also during this historic occasion, ISRO Awards for the year 2010 and 2011 were presented to those who made important contributions to the Indian space programme. Those who received the awards include Col N Pant, former Deputy Chairman, ISRO, who received the lifetime achievement award for 2010. The Outstanding Achievement awards for 2010 were given to Mr R Aravamudan, former Director, SDSC SHAR and ISRO Satellite Centre, Prof Narendra G Bhandari, former Professor, Physical Research Laboratory, Mr K Narayana, former Director, SDSC SHAR, Mr S Ramakrishnan, former Director, VSSC and Mr N Vedachalam, former Director, LPSC. Additionally, Performance Excellence Awards (16), Merit Awards (39), Team Excellence Awards (30) and Young Scientist Merit Awards (84) for 2010 and 2011 were also presented during the function.

More than 500 participants, including many scientists and engineers who worked for the Aryabhata Project, Senior Scientists from ISRO and ISRO awardees from all the ISRO centres attended the function.


SpaceRef staff editor.