Status Report

2008 Lowell Thomas Awards Dinner: Exploring Earth from Above

By SpaceRef Editor
September 1, 2008
Filed under , ,
2008 Lowell Thomas Awards Dinner: Exploring Earth from Above

The 2008 Lowell Thomas Awards Dinner: “Exploring Earth from Above” will be held on Thursday, October 16, 2008 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. Sponsored by the Explorers Club, the Lowell Thomas Award is presented by Rolex and the President of the Explorers Club to groups of explorers who have distinguished themselves in various fields of exploration.

The 2008 honorees are:

William A. Anders (Major General, USAF Reserve, Ret.) – Anders was the backup pilot for Gemini XI and Apollo 11 and the pilot for Apollo 8, the first human lunar orbit mission. He has logged more than 6,000 hours flying time. Anders has multiple awards including Distinguished Service Medals from USAF, NASA, and NRC.

Leroy Chiao, Ph.D. FN’05 – Astronaut, pilot, engineer, educator. Chiao as over 36 days in space on three shuttle missions, over 26 EVA hours, prior to commanding the International Space Station on Expedition 10 for more than 190 days. Chiao has logged over 2,500 flight hours in a variety of aircraft.

Martha King – The only woman to hold every category and class of FAA rating and every flight and ground instructor certificate offered by the FAA. She was honored as one of 100 Distinguished Aviation Heroes in the first century of flight. King was appointed by President Clinton to the First Flight Centennial Federal Advisory Board

Scott E. Parazynski, M.D. FN’08 – Physician, pilot, astronaut. Parazynski is a veteran of five space shuttle flights. and performed an unprecedented spacewalk on STS-120 to repair space station solar array. He is a commercial, multi-engine, seaplane, and instrument-rated pilot with over 2,000 flight hours in a variety of aircraft.

Dick H. Smith, FN’82 – The first person to fly around the world by helicopter via the poles, made the first helicopter flight to the North Pole, and flew the first solo helicopter flight around the world. Smith was named the Australian of the Year for 1986 and was awarded the Officer of the Order of Australia in 1999.

Brig. Gen Charles E. Yeager (USAF Ret.) HON’63 – Fighter pilot ace and test pilot. Yeager was the first person to break the sound barrier and has multiple awards including the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Yeager is considered by many to be one of the greatest pilots of all time.

Click here to purchase tickets

Master of Ceremonies: Cable News Network’s Miles O’Brien.

Date: Thursday, October 16, 2008
Time: 7:00pm-10:00pm
Open to: Public
Location: Cipriani Wall Street, 55 Wall Street, New York, NY 10005

SpaceRef staff editor.