Press Release

Vice President Pence Congratulates Appointees to the National Space Council Users’ Advisory Group

By SpaceRef Editor
June 16, 2020
Filed under ,

Vice President Mike Pence, Chairman of the National Space Council, released the following statement on the appointment of members to serve on the National Space Council Users’ Advisory Group. Nominated by the Vice President, the members of the Users’ Advisory Group have been appointed by NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine for two-year terms. The Users’ Advisory Group serves to fulfill President Trump’s directive to “foster close coordination, cooperation, and technology and information exchange” across our nation’s space enterprise to ensure that the United States remains the world’s foremost spacefaring country.


“At President Trump’s direction, the United States set out to establish a new era of American leadership in space. Members of the Users’ Advisory Group will continue to provide valuable insight on space policy as the United States carries out the President’s vision,” said Vice President Mike Pence. “As chair of the National Space Council, I am honored to welcome these men and women to the UAG.”


The following individuals have been appointed to serve two-year terms on the National Space Council Users’ Advisory Group:


Admiral James Ellis, Jr., USN, Retired* (Chair, Users’ Advisory Group)

Former Commander, United States Strategic Command, member of the Space Foundation Board of Directors


Dr. Buzz Aldrin, USAF, Retired

Apollo 11 astronaut


Tory Bruno

President and CEO, United Launch Alliance


David Calhoun

President and CEO, The Boeing Company


Dean Cheng

Scholar at the Heritage Foundation


Colonel Eileen Collins, USAF, Retired

Four-time shuttle astronaut, first female shuttle commander


The Honorable John Culberson

Former U.S. Congressman, Texas


Dr. Mary Lynne Dittmar

President and CEO, Coalition for Deep Space Exploration


Eileen Drake

President and CEO, Aerojet Rocketdyne


Tim Ellis

CEO, Relativity Space


Homer Hickam

Board Member, U. S. Space & Rocket Center; former NASA Marshall Spaceflight Center engineer; Author of “Rocket Boys”


The Honorable Kay Ivey

Governor of Alabama


Dr. Bruce Jakosky

Professor of Atmosphere and Space Physics, University of Colorado


Fred Klipsch*

Board of Trustees, Marian University; Chairman and CEO, Klipsch Audio Technologies, Retired


General Les Lyles, USAF, Retired

Chairman, NASA Advisory Council


Colonel Pam Melroy, USAF, Retired

Three-time shuttle astronaut, former Deputy Director of the Tactical Technology Office at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency


The Honorable Jeanette Nuñez

Lieutenant Governor of Florida, Chairman of the Board, Space Florida


Fatih Ozmen

CEO, Sierra Nevada Corporation


The Honorable Harrison H. Schmitt

Former United States Senator, New Mexico; Apollo 17 astronaut


Gwynne Shotwell

President and COO, SpaceX


Dr. Robert H. Smith

CEO, Blue Origin


Eric Stallmer

President, Commercial Spaceflight Federation


James D. Taiclet, Jr.

President and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corporation


Pamela Vaughan

STEM Integration Specialist for the Arkansas Department of Education


Mandy Vaughn

President, VOX Space


Kathy Warden

Chairman, CEO, and President, Northrop Grumman Corporation


Stuart O. Witt

Former Navy pilot; founder, Mojave Air and Spaceport; former chairman of the Commercial Spaceflight Federation


David Wolf, M.D.

Four-time shuttle astronaut, Purdue University


NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine has appointed 28 members to serve two-year terms on the National Space Council Users’ Advisory Group. Per the group’s charter, “The Chair of the Council, in consultation with other Council members, shall select the members of the UAG, who shall be appointed by the NASA Administrator to a two-year term, which may be renewed at the discretion of the Chair of the Council and the NASA Administrator.” 


The National Space Council Users’ Advisory Group (UAG) was created by Congress in 1991, “to ensure that the interests of industries and other non-Federal entities involved in space activities, including in particular commercial entities, are adequately represented in the National Space Council.” On June 30, 2017, President Donald J. Trump’s Executive Order 13803 revived the UAG, whose members were appointed by NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine in 2018. The UAG, chaired by Admiral James Ellis, has since established six subcommittees, and the full UAG has held four public meetings. The UAG is a federal advisory committee, and its charter was established pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act. 


*These nominees were formally appointed for a two-year term on April 23, 2020.

SpaceRef staff editor.