Press Release

Tom Feeney Elected to Space Foundation Board of Directors

By SpaceRef Editor
January 14, 2015
Filed under , ,

COCOA BEACH, Fla. (Jan. 14, 2015) — The board of directors of the Space Foundation today elected former Florida Congressman Tom Feeney, president and CEO of Associated Industries of Florida, to a three-year term as a member of the board. Feeney joins the Space Foundation board as another Floridian, former Congressman David Weldon, M.D., retires after two terms of service.

Feeney represented Florida’s 24th Congressional District in Congress from 2002 to 2008. He had previously served in the Florida House of Representatives from 1990 to 2002, and was Speaker of the House from 2000-2002. Weldon represented Florida’s 15th Congressional District from 1994 to 2008.

The 2015 Annual Meeting of the Space Foundation board of directors took place today in Cocoa Beach. During the meeting, Weldon was elected to the honorary position of Life Director.

Officers continuing in service are:

Lon C. Levin, chairman, co-founder of XM Satellite Radio, and president of SkySevenVentures

ADM James O. Ellis, Jr., USN (Ret.), vice chairman, former commander, United States Strategic Command, and former president and chief executive officer, INPO, Annenberg Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University

Kathryn C. Thornton, Ph.D., secretary, University of Virginia professor, and former NASA astronaut

Anita M. Antenucci, treasurer, senior managing director, Houlihan Lokey

The Honorable Patricia Grace Smith, executive committee member-at-large, former associate administrator, Federal Aviation Administration; principal, Patti Grace Smith Consulting, LLC

Elected to second terms on the board of directors:

Richard F. Ambrose, executive vice president, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company

The Honorable Robert E. “Bud” Cramer, managing director, C2Group/FTI Consulting

Lynn A. Dugle, president, Raytheon Intelligence and Information Systems (IIS)

John W. Elbon, vice president and general manager, The Boeing Company — Space Exploration

P.J. O’Rourke, author and political satirist

Returning board members are:

Wanda M. Austin, Ph.D., president and chief executive officer, The Aerospace Corporation

Michael Gass, former president and chief executive officer, United Launch Alliance

Jeffrey D. Grant, sector vice president and general manager, Space Systems, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems

James G. Maser, president, James G. Advisors, LLC

Dr. Fritz Merkle, member of the executive board, OHB System AG

Kay N. Sears, president, Intelsat General

Ronald M. Sega, Ph.D., director, Systems Engineering Programs, Colorado State University

“We thank all of our board members for their hard work and commitment to our mission,” said Elliot H. Pulham, Space Foundation board member and chief executive officer.

About the Space Foundation
Founded in 1983, the Space Foundation is the foremost advocate for all sectors of space. The Foundation is a global, nonprofit leader in space awareness activities, educational programs and major industry events, including the annual Space Symposium, all which support of its mission “to advance space-related endeavors to inspire, enable and propel humanity.” Space Foundation World Headquarters, located in Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA, has a public Discovery Center, including El Pomar Space Gallery, Northrop Grumman Science Center featuring Science On a Sphere®, and the Lockheed Martin Space Education Center. The Space Foundation has field offices in Houston and Washington, D.C., the latter from which it conducts government affairs. The Foundation publishes the annual The Space Report: The Authoritative Guide to Global Space Activity, and, through its Space Certification and Space Technology Hall of Fame® programs, recognizes space-based innovations that have been adapted to improve life on Earth. Visit, follow us on FacebookInstagramLinkedInPinterestTwitter andYouTube, and read our e-newsletter Space Watch

SpaceRef staff editor.