Press Release

Stanford University Professor to Receive Prestigious Elmer A. Sperry Award

By SpaceRef Editor
October 30, 2006
Filed under ,

October 30, 2006 — Reston, Virginia — The Elmer Sperry Board of Award is pleased to announce that Antony Jameson, Thomas V. Jones Professor in the School of Engineering at Stanford University in Stanford, California, has been chosen to receive the 2006 Elmer A. Sperry Award.

The Elmer A. Sperry Award was established in 1955 to commemorate the life of Elmer A. Sperry, whose many inventions – including the gyroscope, the first electric automobile, and aid and sea navigational aids – contributed to the advancement of many modes of transportation.  The award, consisting of a certificate and medal, will be presented to Jameson on January 7, 2007, in conjunction with the AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting in Reno, Nevada.

Jameson is being recognized for his seminal work and continuing contributions to aviation through the development of innovative and efficient computational aerodynamic design codes and their application to the designs of aircraft.

Jameson has authored or co-authored 300 scientific papers in a wide range of subject areas, including both control theory and aerodynamics, and is the principal developer of the well-known series of ‘FLO’ and ‘SYN’ codes, which have been used throughout the aerospace industry.

Over the past 30 years, Jameson has had an enormous impact on the field of computational fluid dynamics (CFD), opening up new avenues of research and developing tools to solve problems thought impossible. During Jameson’s distinguished career, CFD has advanced from a very primitive technology to one that is a critical tool in aerodynamic design.  Many of these advances were due to Jameson’s knowledge, algorithm technology and the codes he created.

Jameson has been the Thomas V. Jones Professor in the School of Engineering at Stanford University since 1997.  Prior to this, he was James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Aerospace Engineering, Director of the Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics and Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Princeton University; Professor of Computer Science at New York University; Staff Engineer at Grumman Aerospace Company in Bethpage, New York; and Chief Mathematician at Hawker Siddeley Dynamics in Coventry.

The award is given in “recognition of a distinguished engineering contribution which, through application proved in actual service, has advanced the art of transportation, whether by land, sea, air or space” to stimulate innovation in many fields.  Its recipients have included such giants of the transportation arts as Donald W. Douglas, Ferdinand Porsche, Sir Geoffrey De Havilland, Robert Gilmore Letourneau, Igor Sikorsky and Charles Stark Draper.

The Elmer A. Sperry Award is unique.  It is the only transportation engineering honor presented jointly by six professional engineering societies: American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME), Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

AIAA advances the state of aerospace science, engineering, and technological leadership. Headquartered in suburban Washington, D.C., the Institute serves over 35,000 members in 65 regional sections and 79 countries. AIAA membership is drawn from all levels of industry, academia, private research organizations, and government. For more information, visit

SpaceRef staff editor.