Press Release

Space Foundation confirms NASA Administrator for National Space Symposium

By SpaceRef Editor
March 12, 2002
Filed under ,

NASA Administrator Sean O’Keefe will deliver keynote remarks on April 11 during the 18th National Space Symposium, Space Foundation officials announced today. Known as the only conference in the space industry which fully integrates the civil, national security and commercial space sectors, the National Space Symposium takes place April 8-11 at the Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs.

After being nominated by President George W. Bush and confirmed by the U.S. Senate, O’Keefe was sworn in as NASA’s 10th Administrator in Dec. 2001. He most recently served as deputy director of the Office of Management and Budget. Prior to serving in the Administration, O’Keefe was Louis A. Bantle Professor of Business and Government Policy at the Syracuse University Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs; and Director of National Security Studies, a partnership of Syracuse University and Johns Hopkins University, for delivery of executive education programs for senior military and civilian Department of Defense managers.

O’Keefe previously served as Secretary of the Navy, an appointment by President George Bush; comptroller and chief financial officer for the Department of Defense; and member of the United States Senate Committee on Appropriations staff. He earned a BA from Loyola University in New Orleans, and an MPA from The Maxwell School.

Other confirmed symposium speakers include Jim Albaugh, president and chief executive officer, Boeing Space & Communications; Gen. Ed Eberhart, USAF, Commander in Chief NORAD/U.S. Space Command and Commander, Air Force Space Command; Jeff Harris, deputy to the executive vice president, Lockheed Martin Space Systems; Vice Adm. Conrad Lautenbacher, USN (Ret.), under secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and NOAA Administrator; Hon. Peter Teets, under secretary of the Air Force and director, National Reconnaissance Office; futurist Dr. Alvin Toffler; and Hon. Robert Walker, chairman, Wexler & Walker Public Policy Associates and chairman, Commission on the Future of the U.S. Aerospace Industry.

The National Space Symposium also features an opening ceremony with the presentation of annual Space Foundation awards; panel sessions; the Space Technology Hall of Fame Dinner and the first annual presentation of the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award; a 26,000 sq. ft. exhibit center and “A Salute to America’s Military Astronauts Luncheon.” Visit for on-line registration, the program agenda, a comprehensive speaker list, list of exhibitors and more.

The Space Foundation is a national non-profit organization advancing space awareness and education. In addition to the National Space Symposium, the Foundation conducts the International Space Symposium, scheduled to take place in Toulouse, France, September 10-13, 2002.

SpaceRef staff editor.