Press Release

Space for our future exhibition ready to open in Brussels

By SpaceRef Editor
October 27, 2014
Filed under , ,
Space for our future exhibition ready to open in Brussels

The ‘Space For Our Future’ exhibition, created by ESA and the European Commission, will be formally opened on 28 October in Brussels by EC President José Manuel Barroso and ESA’s Director General Jean-Jacques Dordain.

The display highlights Europe’s successes in space, the concrete benefits being delivered to citizens, and the developments expected in the near future.

This showcase will take place from 27 October to 14 November at the Berlaymont building in Brussels, headquarters of the European Commission. It will be inaugurated on 28 October at 12:00 CET in front of EU and national representatives and media.

Organised with the support of France’s CNES space agency and Arianespace, the European launch services provider, the exhibition reflects the whole European space sector as it also involves the participation of Eumetsat, the European Satellite Operators Association, Eutelsat, Inmarsat, SES and Hispasat.

It marks 50 years of Europe in space and underlines the close cooperation between ESA, its Member States and the EU, all of which provide a strong foundation on which to build for the future.

Space is a valuable means for boosting public support for the ‘European project’. The exhibition will contribute to the collective appreciation that, together, we are able to perform the most spectacular projects and ensure our strategic independence while promoting growth and employment in Europe.

The exhibition is structured around the three pillars of knowledge and innovation, services to citizens, and competitiveness. It presents the major challenges facing Europe and highlights the space projects and initiatives that will help tackle them.

On 12 November, the exhibition will provide a venue to follow ESA’s Rosetta mission as the first-ever landing on a comet is attempted. This remarkable effort, a milestone in human history, has been made possible by European scientists and engineers. Media in Brussels, EU representatives and authorities will also have the opportunity to witness this historic moment.

Further information is available at:

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’ s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA has 20 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, of whom 18 are Member States of the EU. Two other Member States of the EU, Hungary and Estonia, are likely to become soon new ESA Member States.

ESA has Cooperation Agreements with six other Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

ESA is also working with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country.

ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities.

Today, it develops and launches satellites for Earth observation, navigation, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space.

Learn more at

SpaceRef staff editor.