Press Release

Sen. Hutchison Named Ranking Member of Aviation Subcommittee, Sen. Vitter to Replace Hutchison as Ranking Member on Space Subcommittee

By SpaceRef Editor
December 5, 2007
Filed under ,

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas) today was named the new Ranking Member of the Aviation Operations, Safety, and Security Subcommittee. Senator Hutchison will replace current Ranking Member Senator Trent Lott (R-Miss.), who announced last week that he is resigning at the end of this year.

“Aviation is vital to our country and especially to my home state of Alaska,” said Commerce Committee Vice Chairman Ted Stevens (R-Alaska). “I look forward to working with Senator Hutchison next session on important aviation issues that face our nation such as the Federal Aviation Administration reauthorization.”

Senator Hutchison has been a member of the Senate Commerce Committee for 14 years. She has sponsored important aviation legislation including the Aviation Security Improvement Act which was signed by the President in 2000 and the Aviation and Transportation Security Act of 2001 (S. 1447) to rebuild America’s aviation system and create the Transportation Security Administration. Senator Hutchison also served as Vice Chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board from 1976 to 1978.

Additionally, Senator David Vitter (R-La.) was named the new Ranking Member of the Space, Aeronautics, and Related Sciences subcommittee to replace Senator Hutchison.

“I am looking forward to working with Senator Vitter next year on issues facing the nation in the space and aeronautical fields,” said Commerce Committee Vice Chairman Ted Stevens (R-Alaska).

SpaceRef staff editor.