Press Release

Satellite Industry Association Congratulates Ajit Pai on Being Named New Chairman of the FCC

By SpaceRef Editor
January 25, 2017
Filed under , ,

The Satellite Industry Association (SIA) today released a statement of congratulations to Ajit Pai on being designated the 34th Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission by U.S. President Donald Trump.

“On behalf of SIA and its members, I wish to congratulate Chairman Pai on his new role,” said Tom Stroup, President of the Satellite Industry Association. “During his tenure at the FCC he has been a champion for regulatory reform, innovation, and at the same time ensuring Americans have access to the critical services provided by the satellite industry. We look forward to working with new Chairman and the Commission to help secure America’s global leadership role in commercial space technology while delivering the very best wireless voice, data, imaging, navigation, tracking and other key services delivered by satellites to the benefit of all Americans.”

About The Satellite Industry Association

SIA is a U.S.-based trade association providing representation of the leading satellite operators, service providers, manufacturers, launch services providers, and ground equipment suppliers. For more than two decades, SIA has advocated on behalf of the U.S. satellite industry on policy, regulatory, and legislative issues affecting the satellite business. For more information, visit

SIA Executive Members include: The Boeing Company; DIRECTV; EchoStar Corporation; Intelsat S.A.; Iridium Communications Inc.; Kratos Defense & Security Solutions; Ligado Networks; Lockheed Martin Corporation; Northrop Grumman Corporation; OneWeb; SES Americom, Inc.; Space Exploration Technologies Corp.; SSL; and ViaSat, Inc. SIA Associate Members include: ABS US Corp.; Artel, LLC; Blue Origin: DigitalGlobe Inc.; DRS Technologies, Inc.; Eutelsat America Corp.; Global Eagle Entertainment; Glowlink Communications Technology, Inc.; Hughes; Inmarsat, Inc.; Kymeta Corporation; L-3 Electron Technologies, Inc.; O3b Limited; Panasonic Avionics Corporation; Planet; Semper Fortis Solutions; TeleCommunication Systems, Inc.; Telesat Canada; TrustComm, Inc.; Ultisat, Inc.; and XTAR, LLC. SIA Affiliate Members include: The Aerospace Corporation; COMSAT; HawkEye 360; Wiley Rein LLP

SpaceRef staff editor.