Press Release

Nominations Sought for United Technologies Corp. Lyman Award Presented by AIA

By SpaceRef Editor
September 3, 2008
Filed under , ,

Arlington, Va. – The Aerospace Industries Association of America is seeking nominations for the 2008 United Technologies Corp. Lyman Award. The award will be presented by AIA at the association’s Year-End Review and Forecast luncheon on Wednesday, Dec. 10.

In 1972, the former Aviation/Space Writers Association established this prestigious award in honor of Deac Lyman. Both a distinguished aviation writer for the New York Times and a public relations executive for United Aircraft, predecessor of today’s UTC, Lyman was widely known for championing high public relations standards and excellence in writing. The award thus honors the winner for distinguished, career-long achievements in aviation journalism or public relations.

Past Lyman recipients include: Mark Sullivan (2007), Dave North (2006), Walter Boyne (2005), Pierre Sparaco (2002), Jim Holahan (2000), Carole Shifrin (1999),William Schoneberger (1998), Arthur Reed (1996), Jim Woolsey (1994), Philip Geddes (1993), Joseph Murphy (1992), Edward Kolcum (1991), John Taylor (1990), Philip Klass (1989), Robert Serling (1988), Howard Benedict (1987), Kenneth Weaver (1986), Dick Witkin (1985), C.V. Glines (1984), Leighton Collins (1982), Marvin Miles (1981), Eric Bramley (1980), Jerry Hannifin (1979), Devon Francis (1978), George Haddaway (1977), Vern Haugland (1976),Willis Player (1975), Bob Hotz (1974), and Wayne Parrish (1973).

Submissions should include a biography of the candidate with a short explanation as to why the candidate should be considered. Please send submissions by Tuesday, Sept. 23 to Alexis Allen at

SpaceRef staff editor.