Press Release

Nominations for 2015 AGU Journalism Awards Accepted thru March 15

By SpaceRef Editor
February 17, 2015
Filed under , , ,

The world’s largest organization of Earth and space scientists, the American Geophysical Union, is accepting nominations for its 2015 journalism awards through 15 March 2015. This year, AGU plans to present the three awards listed below. The authoritative statements of the rules governing these awards and the awards’ nomination forms are available at the included links:

* David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism — News, recognizing excellence in science news reporting, generally produced under deadline pressure of one week or less. It is named for David Perlman, Science Editor of the San Francisco Chronicle.
More info:
Nomination form:

* Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism — Features, recognizing excellence in science feature reporting, generally produced under a deadline of longer than one week. It is named for the late Walter Sullivan of the New York Times, who was the first recipient of the award.
More info:
Nomination form:

* Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism, recognizing journalists who have made significant, lasting, and consistent contributions to accurate reporting on the Earth and space sciences for the general public. Established in 1991, the award has been named since 2001 for Robert C. Cowen, longtime science editor (now retired) of the Christian Science Monitor.
More info:
Nomination form:

The Perlman and Sullivan awards each honor specific stories reported by journalists in the past year (i.e., 2015 awards honor 2014 stories). Journalists are welcome to nominate their own work for these awards, or someone may nominate a story on the reporter’s behalf. Each award consists of a plaque and a $5,000 stipend.

For the Perlman and Sullivan awards, nominations may be from any country, in any language (English translation required), and in any news medium, except books. Entries will be judged by how well they meet one or more of the following three criteria: Brings new information or concepts about AGU sciences to the public’s attention, identifies and corrects misconceptions about AGU sciences, and makes AGU sciences accessible and interesting to general audiences, without sacrificing accuracy.

The Cowen Award celebrates a career of outstanding reporting on Earth and space sciences. Only AGU members may submit nominations for the award, which is presented no more often than every two years. The Cowen Award consists of a glass globe on a base with an engraved plate.

The deadline to submit nominations for AGU’s 2015 journalism awards is 15 March 2015. AGU will present the awards on 16 December 2015 at the AGU Fall Meeting in San Francisco.

Peter Weiss
AGU Public Information Manager
+1 202-777-7507

The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing more than 60,000 members in 139 countries. Join the conversation on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and other social media channels.

SpaceRef staff editor.