Press Release

National Science Foundation to Host Reception Honoring 2005 and 2006 Medal of Science Laureates

By SpaceRef Editor
July 26, 2007
Filed under ,

NSF manages award program to spotlight nation’s most distinguished scientists July 25, 2007

Come meet and greet the distinguished 2005 and 2006 National Medal of Science laureates at the National Science Foundation (NSF), which manages this prestigious awards program, on Thursday, July 26, 2007. NSF Director Arden Bement will lead a ceremony to honor the laureates during a reception in their honor.

On the following day, Friday, July 27, at 1:50 p.m., President George W. Bush will present these laureates with the 2005 and 2006 National Medals of Science at a White House ceremony. The ceremony will be carried live by satellite feed–visit for coordinates–and webcast on

What: NSF reception honoring National Medal of Science laureates

Who: 2005 and 2006 National Medal of Science Laureates (listed below)

When: Thursday, July 26, 2007, 4 to 6 p.m. Pre-reception media availability by request. Where: National Science Foundation, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, VA (Ballston metro station) Please call Lisa-Joy Zgorski at 703-292-8311 (office) or 202-285-7396 (cell) to request clearance to attend reception (call before 10 a.m. on Thursday, July 25, 2006) and/or to schedule interviews with laureates.

The 2005 National Medal of Science Laureates:

  • Jan D. Achenbach — Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.
  • Ralph A. Alpher — The Dudley Observatory, Schenectady, NY
  • Gordon H. Bower — Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.
  • Bradley Efron — Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.
  • Anthony S. Fauci — National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.
  • Tobin J. Marks — Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.
  • Lonnie G. Thompson — Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
  • Torsten N. Wiesel — The Rockefeller University, New York, NY

The 2006 National Medal of Science Laureates:

  • Hyman Bass — University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.
  • Marvin H. Caruthers — University of Colorado, Boulder, Colo.
  • Rita R. Colwell — University of Maryland (College Park, Md.), of Bethesda, Md.
  • Peter B. Dervan — California Institute of Technology, San Marino, Calif.
  • Nina V. Fedoroff — Pennsylvania State University, State College, Penn.
  • Daniel Kleppner — Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge, Mass.), of Belmont, Mass.
  • Robert S. Langer — Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge, Mass.), of Newton, Mass.
  • Lubert Stryer — Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.

For more information on the National Medal of Science, and for photographs and biographical information on its 2005 and 2006 laureates, visit:

SpaceRef staff editor.