Press Release

NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center Recognizes 237 for Achievements Supporting NASA’s Mission of Discovery

By SpaceRef Editor
June 29, 2007
Filed under ,

In a ceremony today at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala., 237 employees and contractors were lauded for their critical contributions to the nation’s space program and NASA’s ongoing mission of exploration and discovery.

Charles Scales, NASA associate deputy administrator at NASA Headquarters in Washington, and Marshall Center Director David King made presentations to individuals and groups for their achievements.

Three Marshall Center employees received Presidential Rank Awards, honoring federal executives who have demonstrated strength, integrity, industry and commitment to the public trust. Winners of the Rank of Meritorious Executive award were Robert Lightfoot, deputy director of the Marshall Center; Robin Henderson, associate director of the center; and Teresa B. Vanhooser, deputy director of Marshall’s Exploration Launch Office. NASA Administrator Michael Griffin nominated each employee, a panel of private citizens evaluated the candidates and President George W. Bush made the final designations.

A NASA Distinguished Service Medal was presented to Jimmy R. Snoddy, technical assistant in Marshall’s Engineering Directorate. Snoddy received the award for his exceptional leadership of the team designing and developing the Ares I crew launch vehicle and the Ares V cargo launch vehicle — the next-generation flagships destined to return human explorers to the moon and carry them on to Mars and beyond.

NASA’s Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal was presented to Alan M. Title, principal scientist at the Lockheed Martin Advanced Technology Center in Palo Alto, Calif., supporting the Science and Mission Systems Office at the Marshall Center. Title received the distinction for his leading role in a series of NASA solar physics missions that have revolutionized scientific understanding of the dynamic sun.

NASA Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medals were presented to Shannon Bragg-Sitton and Kendall K. Brown of the Engineering Directorate at Marshall. Bragg-Sitton, a nuclear engineer supporting the Early Flight Fission Test Facility, received the award for her role in designing and developing non-nuclear testing techniques to simulate fission-based power systems for future use on other worlds. Brown, engine systems team lead in the Liquid Engine and Main Propulsion Systems Branch, earned the distinction for leading development of next-generation liquid rocket propulsion systems in support of NASA’s exploration mission.

NASA’s Exceptional Administrative Achievement Medal was presented to Tammy K. Knight, legal support assistant in the Office of the Chief Counsel at Marshall. Knight received the distinction for exemplary performance in managing a broad range of administrative, budget, procurement, communications and facility-related duties for the office.

NASA Outstanding Leadership Medals were awarded to 10 Marshall employees: Deputy Director Lightfoot; Ann R. McNair, director of the Office of Center Operations; Audrey D. Robinson, manager of the Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity; Arthur E. Goldman, deputy director of NASA’s Stennis Space Center; Stephen A. Cook, manager of the Exploration Launch Office; Anthony R. Lavoie, manager of the Lunar Program and Projects Office; and Mary E. Koelbl, Joe L. Leopard, Bruce K. Tiller and Gary L. Wentz of the Engineering Directorate.

Additional awards presented to Marshall employees and contractors included 18 Exceptional Achievement Medals, 19 Exceptional Service Medals, five Exceptional Public Service Medals and 22 NASA Group Achievement Awards. Numerous additional honors, commendations and certificates of appreciation were presented.

A complete list of award recipients is available in the June 21 edition of “The Marshall Star,” the Marshall Center’s weekly newsletter:

SpaceRef staff editor.