Press Release

NASAQuest Events this week and coming up!

By SpaceRef Editor
January 16, 2000
Filed under

Dear NASAQuest members,

There are some special events to take note of this week and in the coming
month! Please be sure to check the full schedule of events at
http://quest.arc.nasa.gov/common/events.cgi?QuestChat

>>>>>>LTC WEBCAST EVENT

Tuesday, Jan 18

l 10:00am-10:45am PST

(1:00pm – 1:45pm EST)

What is a Lunar Eclipse?

This will be a very special show, previewing the Total Eclipse of the Moon occurring on
January 20,2000. This eclipse will be visible across all of North and South America in it’s
entirety. Please note that show time begins at 10:00am Pacific Time (or 1:00pm Eastern) as is
geared for Grade 2-12 audiences.
See http://solar-center.stanford.edu/webcast/wc05.html for more information.

>>>>>WEBCAST: The Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM)

See http://quest.arc.nasa.gov/ltc/jpl/srtm.html for details!

These Webcasts are made possible by the generous support of LiveOnTheNet.com and are
broadcast Live from Jet Propulsion Laboratory’s Design Hub in Pasadena, California.

Friday , Jan 21 10:00 am Pacific (1:00 pm Eastern)

Pre-Launch Mission Overview

To extract the most accurate and useful information from radar echoes,
scientists need data that are calibrated.Desert areas, such as Death Valley,
provide an ideal background calibration because they are relatively smooth and vegetation free.

>>>>>February – Black History Month — Women of NASA will focus on Black American

Women. Also February’s National Engineer Week from 2/21-2/25. Women of NASA will
host two chats with engineers who are African-American. See the list of chats coming up:
http://quest.arc.nasa.gov/common/events.cgi?QuestChat

SpaceRef staff editor.