Press Release

NASA Names 23 Astronauts and Cosmonauts to Shuttle Flights in 2002 (STS-112, STS-113, STS-114)

By SpaceRef Editor
August 17, 2001
Filed under , ,

NASA has named crew members to three missions scheduled to
visit the International Space Station in the second half of 2002.

STS-112 (scheduled for July), STS-113 (August) and STS-114
(November) will involve assembly work, and the last two also will
exchange space station expedition crews. In all, these missions
will carry 23 astronauts and cosmonauts, including nine first-time

STS-112, commanded by Jeffrey S. Ashby (Capt., USN), will deliver a
segment of the space station’s truss and equipment to help
spacewalkers move around the station’s exterior. Pamela A. Melroy
(Col. select, USAF) will serve as pilot. Mission specialists
include David A. Wolf (M.D.), Piers J. Sellers (Ph.D.), Sandra H.
Magnus (Ph.D.) and Fyodor N. Yurchikhin, RSC Energia.

Ashby has flown twice, on STS-93 in 1999 and STS-100 this year.
Melroy flew on STS-92 in 2000. Wolf first flew in 1993 on STS-58;
in 1997 he traveled to the Russian space station Mir, where he
spent 199 days. Sellers, Magnus, and Yurchikhin will be making
their first trips into space.

STS-113, commanded by James D. Wetherbee (Capt., USN), also will
carry a truss segment, along with additional equipment to assist
spacewalkers. Pilot Christopher J. Loria (Lt. Col., USMC) will
join Wetherbee on the flight deck. Michael E. Lopez-Alegria (Capt.
select, USN) and John B. Herrington (Cmdr., USN) will serve as
mission specialists.

Wetherbee, a veteran astronaut, has been in space five times: STS-
32 in 1990, STS-52 in 1992, STS-63 in 1995, STS-86 in 1997 and STS-
102 in 2001. Loria and Herrington are first-time flyers, and Lopez-
Alegria will take his third trip to space, having flown on STS-73
in 1995 and STS-92 in 2000.

The Expedition Six space station crew — Commander Kenneth D.
Bowersox (Capt., USN), Donald A. Thomas (Ph.D.) and Nikolai M.
Budarin, RSC Energia — will travel to the station aboard STS-113.
The Expedition Five crew, made up of Valeri G. Korzun (Col.,
Russian Air Force), Peggy A. Whitson (Ph.D.) and Sergei Y.
Treschev, RSC Energia, will return to Earth on STS-113.

Bowersox was a member of STS-50 in 1992, STS-61 in 1993, STS-73 in
1995 and STS-82 in 1997. Thomas previously orbited Earth during
STS-65 in 1994, STS-70 in 1995, STS-83 in 1997 and STS-94 in 1997.
Budarin returns to space for his third long-duration flight after
stays on Mir in 1995 and 1998. Expedition Five’s Korzun takes his
second long-duration trip to space after a stay at Mir that ended
in 1997, while Whitson and Treschev will make their first trips
into space.

STS-114, which had been labeled STS-113 in earlier planning
schedules and news releases, will be commanded by Eileen M. Collins
(Col., USAF) and piloted by James M. Kelly (Lt. Col., USAF). The
mission is a space station utilization and logistics flight. The
mission includes Soichi Noguchi (NASDA) and Stephen K. Robinson
(Ph.D.) as mission specialists. The mission will return Expedition
Six to Earth and take Expedition Seven to the station. Expedition
Seven is comprised of Yuri I. Malenchenko (Col., Russian Air
Force), Sergei Moschenko, Khrunichev Space Center, and Edward T. Lu

Collins served as pilot on STS-63 in 1995 and STS-84 in 1997, and
commanded the STS-93 mission in 1999. Kelly flew his first mission
aboard STS-102 earlier this year. Robinson, having flown on STS-85
in 1997 and STS-95 in 1998, also serves as a backup crewmember for
Expedition Four. Malenchenko served as commander of Mir 16 and flew
on STS-106 in 2000. Moschenko is making his first space flight,
while Lu flew aboard STS-84 in 1997 and ST

S-106 in 2000. Noguchi
will be taking his first flight into space.

Further information is available on the Internet:

Crew Biographies

International Space Station

Space Shuttle Launch Schedule

SpaceRef staff editor.