Press Release

NASA Marshall Center Honors 235 for Individual and Group Achievments at Annual Awards Ceremony

By SpaceRef Editor
June 1, 2005
Filed under ,

Today, NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala., recognized employees who made significant contributions to America’s space program during the last year.

James L. Jennings, NASA associate administrator for Institutions and Management at NASA Headquarters in Washington, joined Marshall Center Director David King at the annual NASA and Marshall Center Honor Awards ceremony. Approximately 235 civil servant and contractor employees were presented a wide range of awards for both individual and group achievements.

Four Marshall Center employees received Presidential Rank Awards, presented each year to a select group of senior federal executives who have demonstrated strength, integrity, industry and commitment to the public trust. Nominations are made by the head of their agency and a panel of private citizens evaluates the candidates. Only candidates whose personal conduct and results-oriented leadership distinguish them are selected for referral to the president of the United States, who makes the final designation. There are two categories — Distinguished and Meritorious.

Center Director David King was honored with the Presidential Rank Award of Distinguished Executive for sustained extraordinary accomplishment. Receiving the Presidential Rank Award of Meritorious Executive, for sustained accomplishment were William Hicks, Marshall’s chief counsel; Paul Munafo, assistant director for Safety and Engineering, Office of the Director; and Michael Rudolphi, manager of the Space Shuttle Propulsion Office.

The NASA Distinguished Service Medal was presented to three Marshall Center employees at an April 27 ceremony at NASA Headquarters. King and Munafo, along with Johnny Stephenson Jr., of Marshall’s Engineering Directorate, were recognized as recipients of the highest honor that NASA gives to government employees.

Marshall’s Software of the Year Award was presented jointly to Daniel J. Dorney of Marshall’s Engineering Directorate and Douglas L. Sondak of Boston University in Boston, Mass. Dorney and Sondak co-authored CORSAIR, a new computer code designed to predict flow patterns in, and the performance of, rocket and jet engine pumps and turbines. The code is used by many governmental agencies, industry and universities for design, analysis and anomaly investigations.

Francis C.W. Everitt of W.W. Hansen Experimental Physics Lab of Palo Alto Calif., received the Distinguished Public Service Medal, NASA’s highest honor for a non-government employee whose accomplishments contributed substantially to the NASA mission.

Also presented at the Honor Awards ceremony were Outstanding Leadership Medals to 11 Marshall employees: Richard K. Burt, Patrick S. McRight, Neil E. Otte, Nelson C. Parker and James E. Turner, all of the Engineering Directorate; Thomas F. Fleming and W. Scott Smith of the Science and Technology Directorate; Marshall Associate Director Robin N. Henderson; Jonathan Q. Pettus of the Office of Center Operations; Ronald F. Porter of the Space Transportation Programs/Projects Office; and Neil E. Rainwater II of the Safety and Mission Assurance Directorate.

Additional awards presented included two Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medals; one Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal; one Equal Employment Opportunity Medal; 14 Exceptional Service Medals; nine Exceptional Achievement Medals; five Public Service Medals; and one Exceptional Technology Achievement Medal; numerous group awards and certificates of appreciation.

A complete list of award recipients is available at:

If you do not wish to receive faxed news releases or other media products from NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center, please write UNSUBSCRIBE and your fax number or numbers in large, legible letters on this page and fax it with your request, to the following toll-free number: 877-407-7343

For information about NASA and agency programs on the Web, visit:

SpaceRef staff editor.