Press Release

NASA Convenes Education Advisory Committee for Inaugural Meeting

By SpaceRef Editor
February 17, 2004
Filed under , ,

Tomorrow, NASA will convene the first-ever meeting of its
new Education Advisory Committee at the agency’s Washington
Headquarters. The two-day session will draw on the expertise of
committee members, who will provide advice and recommendations
to NASA’s Associate Administrator for Education on education
priorities and implementation strategies.

Ultimately, the Education Advisory Committee will advise the
NASA Administrator, through the NASA Advisory Council (NAC), on
agency programs related to education. The committee will review
recommendations of its subcommittees, panels and task forces to
provide reports to the NAC.

The 11 members of the new NASA Education Advisory Committee

  • Dr. William Harvey, Vice President, American Council on Education
  • Dr. Phillip Clay, Chancellor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Dr. Dolores M. Fernandez, President, Eugenio Maria de Hostos Community College of The City of New York
  • Dr. Norman C. Francis, President, Xavier University of Louisiana
  • Dr. Harriett G. Jenkins, Consultant
  • Mr. Wayne C. Johnson, Executive Director, University Relations Worldwide, Hewlett-Packard Company
  • Dr. John Jordan, Deputy State Superintendent, Mississippi Department of Education
  • Mr. Douglas R. King, President and CEO, St. Louis Science Center
  • Dr. Marie V. McDemmond, President, Norfolk State University
  • Dr. Gerald “Carty” Monette, President, Turtle Mountain Community College
  • Dr. Diana S. Natalicio, President, University of Texas- El Paso
  • Ms. Senta Raizen, Director, National Center for Improving Science Education/WestEd
  • Ms. Carol Ramsey, Director, Corporate Contributions, Raytheon Company
  • Dr. Lee Stiff, Professor of Mathematics Education, North Carolina State University
  • Dr. Rose Tseng, Chancellor, University of Hawaii at Hilo

For information about NASA’s Office of Education on the Internet, visit:

For information about NASA on the Internet, visit:

SpaceRef staff editor.