Press Release

NASA Convenes Education Advisory Committee for Inagural Meeting

By SpaceRef Editor
February 20, 2004
Filed under , ,

Tomorrow, NASA will convene the first-ever meeting of its
new Education Advisory Committee at the agency’s Washington
Headquarters. The two-day session will draw on the expertise of
committee members, who will provide advice and recommendations
to NASA’s Associate Administrator for Education on education
priorities and implementation strategies.

Ultimately, the Education Advisory Committee will advise the
NASA Administrator, through the NASA Advisory Council (NAC), on
agency programs related to education. The committee will review
recommendations of its subcommittees, panels and task forces to
provide reports to the NAC.

The members of the new NASA Education Advisory Committee are:
Dr. William Harvey, Vice President, American Council on
Education; Dr. Phillip Clay, Chancellor, Massachusetts
Institute of Technology; Dr. Dolores M. Fernandez, President,
Eugenio Maria de Hostos Community College of The City of New
York; Dr. Harriett G. Jenkins, Consultant; Mr. Wayne C.
Johnson, Executive Director, University Relations Worldwide,
Hewlett-Packard Company; Dr. John Jordan, Deputy State
Superintendent, Mississippi Department of Education; Mr.
Douglas R. King, President and CEO, St. Louis Science Center;
Dr. Marie V. McDemmond, President, Norfolk State University;
Dr. Gerald “Carty” Monette, President, Turtle Mountain
Community College; Dr. Diana S. Natalicio, President,
University of Texas- El Paso; Ms. Senta Raizen, Director,
National Center for Improving Science Education/WestEd; Ms.
Carol Ramsey, Director, Corporate Contributions, Raytheon
Company; Dr. Lee Stiff, Past President of the National Council
of Teachers of Mathematics, North Carolina State University;
and Dr. Rose Tseng, Chancellor, University of Hawaii at Hilo.

For information about NASA’s Office of Education on the
Internet, visit:

For information about NASA on the Internet, visit:

SpaceRef staff editor.