Press Release

Minority Contactors Take Home Honors

By SpaceRef Editor
February 15, 2002
Filed under , ,

NASA will honor three minority contractors for their innovative and
outstanding contributions to the agency’s mission. The recipients will
be presented their awards at NASA’s annual Minority Business advocates
Award Ceremony on February 20, 2002 at 2:30 p.m. ET, at NASA
Headquarters in Washington.

Taking the NASA Minority Contractor of the Year award is Gilcrest
Electric & Supply Company, Inc. Headquartered in Elyria, Ohio, Gilcrest
is a prime contractor to NASA’s Glenn Research Center (GRC), Cleveland.
Gilcrest supports GRC’s Facilities and Test Engineering Division.

Muniz Engineering, Inc. is headquartered in Houston, Texas and took home
the award for Minority Subcontractor of the Year. Muniz provides
structural mechanical design and analysis, thermal and environment
control systems, and systems engineering services to The Boeing Company,
a prime contractor at NASA’s Johnson Space Center in Houston.

SA Technologies, Inc. received the award for the Women Owned Business of
the Year. The company, headquartered in Marietta, Ga., provides
situational awareness research, decision-making and automation in
aircraft, air traffic control and aviation maintenance services to
NASA’s Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif.

NASA is also recognizing outstanding advocates for their contributions
and innovative approaches to utilizing minority and women owned
businesses. Mr. David Brock (Small Business), Mr. Emil Posey
(Procurement), both from NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center,
Huntsville, Ala. and Dr. Grigory Adamovsky (Technical), from GRC will
all receive NASA’s Exceptional Achievement Medal.

In addition, three Special Recognition Awards will be conferred to
individuals for specific outstanding accomplishments: Mr. Charles
Harper, Chairman of the Board, Sierra Monolithics, Redondo Beach,
Calif., Mr. Ramen Singh, President, Dynacs Engineering, Inc., Palm
Harbour, Fla., Mr. Carl Eichenlaub, Procurement Analyst, Office of
Procurement, NASA Headquarters.

Finally, eight NASA field Centers will be recognized for meeting or
exceeding all of their negotiated socio-economic business goals for
Fiscal Year 2000. They are Dryden Flight Research Center, Goddard Space
Flight Center, GRC, Langley Research Center, Johnson Space Center,
Marshall Space Flight Center, Kennedy Space Center, and the Jet
Propulsion Laboratory.

All recipient awards will be conferred by Administrator Sean O’Keefe who
will also provide the “State of Small Business at NASA Address” at the
ceremony. The event will air live on NASA Television. NASA TV is
broadcast on the GE-2 satellite, Transponder 9C, at 85 degrees West
longitude, with vertical polarization, frequency 3880.0 MHz, audio 6.8

SpaceRef staff editor.