Press Release

LHC Team and Stephen Hawking Scoop Physics Prizes

By SpaceRef Editor
December 11, 2012
Filed under , ,

Professor Sir Peter Knight, President of the Institute of Physics (IOP), has commented on news that two $3,000,000 special Fundamental Physics Prizes have been awarded to a team of seven scientists who have led efforts at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider (LHC) and, separately, to Stephen Hawking for his discovery of Hawking radiation from black holes.

He said, “It’s great to see the LHC project get the recognition it deserves. The Large Hadron Collider is a ground-breaking technological achievement that has already delivered era-defining scientific results. Having started with the Higgs-like particle, LHC is sure to continue in its trailblazing endeavors.

“These two awards highlight how strong a role British physicists play on the world stage. From the three British-based physicists leading efforts at LHC — Lyn Evans, Michel Della Negra and Tejinder Singh Virdee — to Stephen Hawking, we should rightly cherish our nation’s strength in physics.”

For further information about the award, visit the Fundamental Physics Prize’s site:

Joe Winters
IOP Senior Press Officer
+44 (0)20 7470 4815

The Institute of Physics is a leading scientific society. We are a charitable organization with a worldwide membership of more than 45,000, working together to advance physics education, research and application. We engage with policymakers and the general public to develop awareness and understanding of the value of physics and, through IOP Publishing, we are world leaders in professional scientific communications.

SpaceRef staff editor.