Press Release

Launch of ESA’s XMM telescope on Ariane 504

By SpaceRef Editor
November 22, 1999
Filed under

Practical information for the press


 


The 4th Ariane 5 flight (Ariane 504) is currently scheduled to take place from Europe’s spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana, on 10 December 1999. The launch window opens at 15:32 CET (14:32 GMT; 11:32 Kourou time) and closes at 16:02 CET (15:02 GMT, 12:02 Kourou time).


 


With Ariane 5 entering now commercial service, Arianespace will be launching ESA’s XMM, a very special telescope that will revolutionise the study of X-rays sources from the Universe.


 


To enable media representatives to witness this event from Europe, a European press centre and several local press centres are being set up on the day of the launch. The main press centre will be at ESA’s operations centre ESOC in Darmstadt, Germany, from where XMM will be controlled. The French media can watch the event at Evry, near Paris, at the CNES/Arianespace premises, the Dutch media at the ESA/ESTEC visitors’ centre (Space Expo) in Noordwijk, and the Italian media at ESA/ESRIN in Frascati, near Rome. In the USA, the press will be welcomed in Washington, at a date to be confirmed.


On the day of the launch, the press centres in Europe will provide journalists with non-stop comunication with the Jupiter Press Centre in Kourou. Media representatives will be able to follow the video transmission of the launch and all press conferences and briefings (audio only) scheduled in Kourou. Senior officials, managers, spokespersons and representatives of organisations and firms working on the Ariane 5 and XMM programmes will also be on hand to take questions and assist the press.


 


Pre-launch press briefings from Kourou two days and one day before launch can be followed by calling dedicated telephone servers at given times. The attached table summarises the main events to be followed.


 


Attached you will also find an accreditation form that we kindly ask you to complete and fax to the press centre of your choice.


 


Media representatives wishing to cover the launch from Kourou are kindly requested to contact the Press Services at ESA (Franco Bonacina : + 33.1.53.69.71.55) or at Arianespace (Mario de Lepine:


+ 33.1.60.87.60.15).


 


Main press events for the launch of XMM on Ariane 504


 


PRATICAL INFORMATION FOR THE PRESS


 


LAUNCH SCHEDULED FOR


Friday 10 December 1999


 


LAUNCH WINDOW


15:32-16:02 CET/ 14:32- 15:02 GMT/ 11:32-12:02 Kourou time













ARRANGEMENTS


L-2 (Wednesday 8 Dec. 1999)


 


23:00 CET/ 22:00 GMT/ 19:00 Kourou time


Press briefing: Countdown status from Kourou


Audio on telephone servers: French: +33.1.49.57.28.80 English: +33.149.57.65.55


L-1 (Thursday 9 Dec. 1999)


 


15:00 CET/ 14:00 GMT/ 11:00 Kourou time


Presentation of the mission and countdown status from Kourou


Audio on telephone servers: French: +33.1.49.57.28.80 English: +33.149.57.65.55


 


21:00 CET/ 20:00 GMT/ 17:00 Kourou time


Press briefing: Countdown status from Kourou


Audio on telephone servers: French: +33.1.49.57.28.80 English: +33.149.57.65.55



 


L 0 (Friday 10 Dec. 1999)


 


12:30 CET/ 11:30 GMT/ 08:30 Kourou time


Press briefing: Pre-launch countdown status from Kourou


Audio on telephone servers: French: +33.1.49.57.28.80 English: +33.149.57.65.55


 


14:42 CET/ 13:42 GMT/ 10:42 Kourou time


Start of Video transmission to all Centres (*)


Ho= 15:32 CET/ 14:32 GMT/ 11:32 Kourou time


Ho + 35′ End of videotransmission


 


18:00 CET/ 17:00 GMT/ 14:00 Kourou time


Post-launch press conference from Kourou


In audio multiplex with all centres and on telephone servers: French : +33.1.49.57.28.80


English: +33.149.57.65.55


 


19:30 CET/ 18:30 GMT/ 15:30 Kourou time


Status report on the XMM mission


In audio multiplex with all centres and on telephone servers: French: +33.1.49.57.28.80


English: +33.149.57.65.55


(*) The video transmission , all video news releases and news feeds will be available via the ESA TV Service. For transmission details and schedule, see http://television.esa.int. The ESA TV service transmits every workday 15:00-15:30 CET on:


 


Eutelsat 2 F4, 10 degrees East


Transponder 22, channel 2 (digital, 9 MHz bandwidth)


11.144 MHz, pol HMPEG-2 (4:2:0), 5.632 Msymb/sec, FEC 3/4


ARIANE 504/ Launch of XMM- 10 December 1999


 


First Name: _____________________________ Surname: ____________________________


 


Media: _________________________________________________________________


 


Telephone: ______________________ Cell Phone: _____________________________


 


Fax: ____________________________ e-mail: _________________________________


 


I intend to follow the Ariane 504/XMM launch at the following centre:


 


( ) Germany: EUROPEAN PRESS CENTRE at ESA/ESOC


Address: Robert Bosch Strasse 5, Darmstadt, D-64293


Open from: 11:30 hrs on launch date, local press briefing at 14:00 hrs before start of video transmission


Contact person: Jocelyne Landeau-Constantin


Tel +49 6151 90 26 96, Fax+ 49 6151 90 29 61


 


( ) France: ARIANESPACE/CNES


Address: Boulevard de l’Europe , Evry


Open from: 14:00 hrs on launch date


Contact person: Beatrix Maugueret


Tel. + 33 1 60 87 6013 Fax: + 33 1 60 87 6304


 


( ) Netherlands: ESA/ ESTEC Visitors’ Centre (Space Expo)


Address: Keplerlaan 3, 2201 AZ Noordwijk


Open from: 14:00 hrs on launch date


Contact person: Heidi Graf


Tel: + 31 71 565 3006, Fax: + 31 71 565 5728


 


( ) Italy: ESA/ESRIN- Frascati


Address: via Galileo Galilei, 00044 Frascati (Rome)


Open from: 14:00 hrs on launch date


Contact person: Franca Morgia


Tel: + 39 06 9418 0951, Fax. + 39 06 9418 0952


 


( ) USA: ESA Washington


Contact Person: Jane Mellors


Tel: + 1 202 488 4158, Fax: + 1 202 488 4930


 


PLEASE COMPLETE AND FAX THIS FORM TO THE CONTACT PERSON AT THE CENTRE WHERE YOU WILL BE ATTENDING THE EVENT.


 



 





Public Relations Offices

SpaceRef staff editor.