Press Release

Kavli Foundation: Prize winners honored in Oslo

By SpaceRef Editor
September 10, 2008
Filed under ,

Photographs are available for use by media at:

Seven Laureates Presented Gold Medal by His Royal Highness Crown Prince Haakon Magnus

(OSLO, NORWAY) In a ceremony at the Oslo Concert Hall on Sept. 9, seven pioneering researchers in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience were honored as the first Kavli Prize laureates, receiving a gold medal and scroll from His Royal Highness Crown Prince Haakon Magnus.

Joining His Royal Highness were representatives of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Ministry of Research of Research and Higher Education, and The Kavli Foundation, as well as the chairs of the Kavli Prize committees. Speaking before an international audience that included noted researchers and science leaders, said Fred Kavli, founder of the Kavli Prize and The Kavli Foundation, “We are here today to honor and celebrate our scientists – our prize winners – for their work and their contribution to humanity’s splendid journey. Let these prizes be a token of thanks and gratitude for moving us along the path of greater understanding of the human being, nature, and the universe.”

Ole Didrik Laerum, president of the Academy, also expressed “congratulations, but also deep thanks” to the laureates for their achievements in each of their fields. Minister of Research Tora Aasland noted the laureates — from three different continents – reflected the international nature of research.

Asked what the laureates shared in the common, in a press conference, Kavli Prize laureate Pasko Rakic noted, “I believe we share a desire to understand ourselves and our universe.”

The 2008 Kavli laureates are:

* Astrophysics: Donald Lynden-Bell, University of Cambridge (UK); and Maarten Schmidt, California Institute of Technology (US).

* Nanoscience: Louis Brus, Columbia University (US); and Sumio Iijima, Meijo University (Japan),

* Neuroscience: Sten Grillner, Karolinska Institutet (Sweden); Thomas Jessell, Columbia University (US); and Pasko Rakic, Yale University (US).

Along with a medal and scroll, The Kavli Prize consists of $1,000,000 US for each prize category.

The Kavli Prize is a partnership of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.

SpaceRef staff editor.