Press Release

Impressionist Jon Culshaw Announces Winners of Prestigious Sir Arthur Clarke Awards

By SpaceRef Editor
October 26, 2012
Filed under , ,

The winners of the prestigious Sir Arthur Clarke Awards were announced today (26th October 2012) at an awards ceremony at the House of Lords. Each award was presented to its winner by UK impressionist Jon Culshaw, an avid amateur astronomer and a contributor to Sky at Night and Stargazing Live. The awards recognize notable contributions to the UK space sector. Attended by leading figures from the British and wider international space community, the ceremony honoured the following people/groups:

SSTL NigeriaSat-2 Team – Best Space Activity (Industry/Project)

SSTL is the global leader in provision of low-cost space systems to ‘space developing nations’. In 2011, SSTL’s most advanced satellite to date, NigeriaSat-2, was launched, representing the first flight of SSTL’s high performance EO platform with many technological advances implemented as part of the programme.

Professor Ian Wright and the Rosetta Ptolemy Team – Best Space Activity (Academic Study/Research)

Ian Wright and his team have taken a piece of equipment – a highly sensitive mass spectrometer which normally fills half a laboratory – and have engineered it into a shoe-box sized space instrument for the ESA Rosetta mission. They have fine-tuned this highly complex instrument through a series of in-flight operations and have activated it with an enormous amount of skill at the Rosetta flyby of asteroid Lutetia. This resulted in the publication of results which show the possible first in-situ detection of asteroid outgassing.

Heather MacRae – Best Space Education (Outreach)

Heather MacRae has worked tirelessly with many organisations to expand the UK’s participation in Mission X: Train like an Astronaut. Her work with schools has inspired them to use space as a context to teach different topics. In some cases, the curriculum for a year group has been oriented around using space to inspire.

Charlotte Lucking – Best Space Education (Student)

Charlotte Lucking began her PhD research in October 2009 and is a truly outstanding PhD student. Her work has centred on trajectory design and mission analysis for satellite-on-a-chip devices.

Space Boffins – Best Space Media (Broadcast/Written)

The monthly Space Boffin’s podcast has secured space professionals with a wide range of backgrounds. Their relaxed but inquisitive style has ensured that despite the high profile of the guests the topics that are covered can be fully understood by all listeners.

Paul Money – Lifetime Achievement

One of the UK’s most accomplished amateur astronomers, Paul has worked tirelessly for many years to promote astronomy, giving lectures to both keen astronomers and the general public. Jean-Jaques Dordain – International Achievement

Jean-Jaques Dordain began his career with the French National Aerospace Study and Research Agency (ONERA), conducting research on liquid propellant rocket engines and microgravity experiments. In 1986 he joined ESA as Head of ESA’s Microgravity and Space Station Utilisation Department. In 2003 he was appointed ESA’s Director General.

The Winners of the Sir Arthur Clarke awards are individuals, teams or organisations that have originated in, or have strong links to, the United Kingdom, or have contributed to or benefited the national space sector in some capacity.

Alistair Scott, President of the British Interplanetary Society said, “The British Interplanetary Society is delighted to see the Sir Arthur Clarke Awards taking their place in the busy ‘space’ calendar and are pleased to be administering the judging process once again. We must thank everyone for their support and encouragement and congratulate all the winners of the 2012 awards.”

Presented every year since 2005, the awards are sponsored this year by Reaction Engines Limited, the UK Space Agency, Inmarsat, The Arthur C. Clarke Foundation, The British Rocketry Oral History Project and the British Interplanetary Society (BIS). At the end of the proceedings Lesley and David Wright who had founded the awards in 2005 and run the award ceremony every year since then, handed over ‘ownership’ of the Awards to the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation. Finally, Jon Culshaw seized the moment to present a special award to the Sky at Night team in celebration of their 55th anniversary.

Notes for editors

More info about award categories:

1) Achievement in Space Education and Outreach

This award is made for achievement in space education and outreach. This includes: formal education at all levels, informal education, education about space, education for the space community (e.g. workforce development), education using space assets/resources, and outreach to the general public or specific target groups. The judging of this award is carried out by the Space Education Trust.

2) Achievement in Space Research

This award is made for achievement in space research. This includes research carried out in any subject related to space whether in science, engineering, medicine, humanities, art or design.

3) Achievement in Space Commerce

This award is made for achievement in space commerce. This includes any activity in any are related to space pursued for commercial reasons.

4) Achievement in Space Media

This award is made for achievement in space media. This includes any media related to space such as journalism, documentary, drama or other entertainment, scholarly record in any of the following forms: written, filmed, broadcast, web/internet-based or staged.

5) Space Student Achievement

This award is made for achievement by an undergraduate or postgraduate student(s) of no more than 28 years of age on 12 April 2011 for any space-related activity.

6) International Space Achievement

This award is made for achievement which either features or furthers a significant international aspect in an area of space activity. The judging of this award is carried out by the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation.

7) Exceptional Space Achievement

This award is made for exceptional achievement in an area of space activity. Examples of this might include lifetime achievement, breakthroughs in space science/technology, space undertakings of global impact/significance, etc.

The British Interplanetary Society (BIS) is Britain’s leading think tank on space development. Founded in 1933, it is the world’s longest established organization devoted solely to supporting and promoting the exploration of space and astronautics. The BIS is financially independent, has charitable status, and obtains its main income from a worldwide membership.

The British Interplanetary Society is devoted to initiating, promoting and disseminating new concepts and technical information about space flight and astronautics through meetings, symposia, publications, visits and exhibitions.

Suszann Parry
The British Interplanetary Society
27/29 South Lambeth Road
London SW8 1SZ
T:0207 735 3160
M: 07501221361

SpaceRef staff editor.