Press Release

GPS IIF-6 Launch Team to Hold Media Teleconference

By SpaceRef Editor
May 6, 2014
Filed under , ,

LOS ANGELES AIR FORCE BASE, El Segundo, Calif. — The Global Positioning System (GPS) IIF-6 mission launch team will host a media teleconference Thursday, May 8 at 1:30 PDT/ 2:30 MDT/ 3:30 CDT/ 4:30 EDT to discuss the upcoming launch scheduled for May 15 from Space Launch Complex 37 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Fla.

The launch support team will discuss details of the launch and will be available for questions.

Team members who will be on the teleconference include:  Dr. Walter Lauderdale, GPS IIF-6 mission director; Col Steve R. Steiner, GPS Space Systems Division chief; Munzir Badawi, Boeing’s GPS IIF program manager; Lt.

Col. Dave Ashley, 5th Space Launch Squadron commander; and Ron Fortson, United Launch Alliance’s director of mission management.

Media representatives wishing to participate in this media event should R.S.V.P. to the SMC Public Affairs Office by sending an e-mail to smcpa.media@us.af.mil by COB, May 7. Advance questions on this topic can also be submitted to the e-mail address listed above.

Media representatives who would like to submit questions or interview a subject matter expert about the GPS satellite program should send an e-mail to the above address or call 310-653-2377.

Get the latest Los Angeles Air Force Base news at www.losangeles.af.mil, on Facebook @SpaceandMissileSystemsCenter and on Twitter @AF_SMC

X

SpaceRef staff editor.