Press Release

GMES Masters – T-Systems Cloud Computing Challenge

By SpaceRef Editor
September 7, 2011
Filed under ,
GMES Masters – T-Systems Cloud Computing Challenge

As a leading supplier of cloud computing, T-Systems will award the Cloud Computing Challenge as part of the new innovation competition GMES Masters.

T-Systems enables customers to use ICT resources via the Internet as and when they need them, only paying for what they use. Cloud computing encompasses three service models: software-as-a-service (SaaS), platform-as-a-service (PaaS) and infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS).

T-Systems will award the prize for its Cloud Computing Challenge to *the best GMES application or service idea that will make use of the IaaS cloud computing service model*. IaaS involves the provision of processing power, storage, networks, and other fundamental computing resources to the user, who can then deploy and run operating systems, applications, and many other types of software. IaaS in particular can provide flexible and efficient resources for processing, storing, and distributing GMES services, as ESA scientists and others have shown in pilot projects.

The proposals submitted can target governments, citizens, industries, or any combination thereof, but should be able to use Earth observation data from space or ground-based (in-situ) sensor networks in a dynamic way and be accessible through a user-oriented web portal or mobile device.

*T-Systems will assist the winner of the Cloud Computing Challenge in getting the awarded GMES application or service off the ground*, which could lead to a long-term partnership. T-Systems may provide technical and geo-information expertise and business development support, accompanied by a starter pack of Earth observation data, processing tools, and cloud computing infrastructure to pilot the application.

*To submit your GMES-related Cloud Computing service idea please go to before 15 September 2011*. For further information please refer to the enclosed pdf.

*Please note that to determine the winner of the T-Systems Cloud Computing Challenge 3 to 5 finalists will be invited to present their ideas in person to the experts on 20 September 2011. Please make sure to save that date in case you are selected as a finalist of the T-Systems Cloud Computing Challenge.*

*The GMES Masters is an initiative of the European Space Agency (ESA), the Bavarian Ministry of Economy, the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and T-Systems and is supported by the European Union.*

We look forward to your participation.

Your GMES Masters Team

Friedrichshafener Str. 1
D-82205 Gilching Managing Director
Thorsten Rudolph
Munich Municipal Court
HRB 150 549

SpaceRef staff editor.