Press Release

Democrats Announce House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology Subcommittee Assignments and Ranking Members

By SpaceRef Editor
February 14, 2017
Filed under ,

Last night, the Democratic Caucus of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology elected a Vice Ranking Member and Subcommittee Ranking Members.
Ranking Member Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX) said, “The Committee faced an unprecedented series of challenges in the 114th Congress, and I am honored to again be entrusted with the task of defending our nation’s scientific integrity. Despite many partisan battles last Congress, the Committee managed to pass some bipartisan legislation, I hope that we can build on that record and return to a serious legislative and policy focus in the 115th Congress. I am proud to be working with such a strong group of Ranking Members, Vice-Ranking Member, and caucus.”
Congressman Ami Bera (D-CA) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Space.
“As a kid who grew up during the height of the space race dreaming of what lay beyond us, it’s an honor to be selected to serve as the ranking member for the Subcommittee on Space.  I look forward to working with my colleagues to continue our nation’s leading tradition of innovation in space for the 115th Congress.”
Democratic Members of the Space Subcommittee include:
·         Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
·         Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA)
·         Rep. Marc Veasey (D-TX)
·         Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-IL)
·         Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
·         Rep. Charlie Crist (D-FL)
·         Rep. Bill Foster (D-IL)
Congressman Marc Veasey (D-TX) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Energy.
“As a native Texan, I know that maintaining America’s energy leadership remains a top priority,” said Congressman Veasey. “We can achieve this goal by investing in research and development for utility-scale energy storage, advancing research for renewables and nuclear small modular reactors, and promoting the efficient use fossil fuels while being good stewards of the environment.  I am confident that the committee’s work will continue to propel our country forward through innovation.  The abundant energy we now enjoy is the direct result of research initiated at the National Labs. As ranking member, I will ensure they have the tools to develop the next generation of energy technologies.”
Democratic Members of the Energy Subcommittee include:
·         Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
·         Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-IL)
·         Rep. Jacky Rosen (D-NV)
·         Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA)
·         Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY)
·         Rep. Bill Foster (D-IL)
·         Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA)
Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Environment.
“From climate change to oceanic research, the Environment Subcommittee oversees critical policy issues that must be answered with sound science,” said Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici. “I am deeply troubled by the Trump Administration’s assault on the Environmental Protection Agency and research-based science. We cannot afford to return to the days when our rivers were so polluted they caught on fire, and families, forests, and wetlands were subjected to harmful chemicals like DDT.  I will continue to work with my colleagues to find commonsense solutions to climate change and the environmental issues we face, including protecting our coastal communities from the threat of tsunami. And, I will lead my colleagues in rejecting ideological attacks on science and the environment.”
Democratic Members of the Environment Subcommittee include:
·         Rep. Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI)
·         Rep. Charlie Crist (D-FL)
Congressman Dan Lipinski (D-IL) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Research and Technology.
“It is imperative that we continue to do all we can to keep our nation at the forefront of technology and innovation which will help grow good American jobs,” said Rep. Lipinski.  “As chairman and then ranking member of this subcommittee over the past 8 years, I have helped set the agenda for federal research and technology, including policies that have increased funding for the NSF, trained new American innovators and entrepreneurs, promoted the development of clean energy and energy efficiency, as well as created innovative ways to promote the development of new technologies.” 
Democratic Members of the Research and Technology Subcommittee include:
·         Rep. Elizabeth Esty (D-CT)
·         Rep. Jacky Rosen (D-NV)
·         Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR)
·         Rep. Ami Bera (D-CA)
·         Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA)
Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA) was elected Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Oversight and Vice Ranking Member of the Committee as a whole.
“I am honored to serve as Ranking Member for the Subcommittee on Oversight,” said Rep. Beyer. “In this age of alternative facts, I will fight for scientific integrity. The federal government should promote cutting-edge technology and innovation, which must begin by promoting sound science. I will also seek solutions for our nation’s cybersecurity vulnerabilities. While I hope to work in collaboration with my counterparts in the majority, I will not hesitate to speak out or challenge them if I feel that they are not providing adequate oversight of this administration.”
Democratic Members of the Oversight Subcommittee include:
·         Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA)
·         Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
Please visit our website:

SpaceRef staff editor.