Press Release

Call for Submissions to the Schramm Science Journalism Award

By SpaceRef Editor
October 5, 2009
Filed under , ,

The High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society (HEAD/AAS) is soliciting nominations and submissions for the 7th David N. Schramm Award.

The purpose of the Schramm Award is to recognize and stimulate distinguished writing on high-energy astrophysics in order to improve the general public’s understanding in and appreciation of this exciting field of research.

Applications must be received by November 1, 2009; articles for this award must have been published between January 15, 2008, and November 1, 2009. Please note that this year all forms of science reporting — including blogs, online-only articles, and other multimedia — will be considered. Three separate pieces from each author may be submitted. To receive information on how to apply for the Schramm Award, contact Megan Watzke at

The award consists of a prize of $1,500 and a plaque containing a citation. The publisher of the winning work will receive a certificate honoring the publication in which the work appeared. The award is sponsored by HEAD/AAS, which will pay the winning author’s personal travel expenses so that the award can be received in person at the next HEAD meeting. A commitment to attend the HEAD meeting, which will be held March 1-4, 2010, on the Big Island of Hawaii, is strongly urged for the winner of the Schramm Award.

The entries will be judged by a committee of distinguished scientists and journalists selected by the Executive Committee of the HEAD/AAS. The results will be announced on January 15, 2010. The decision of this judging committee will be final.

David Schramm was a distinguished scientist who is widely regarded as the founder of the field of Particle Astrophysics, a discipline where cosmology and particle physics meet. High-energy astrophysics incorporates experimental and theoretical studies of high-energy photons and particles from the cosmos, including the disciplines of X-ray, gamma-ray and cosmic-ray astronomy.

Further information on the Schramm Award may be found at:

SpaceRef staff editor.