Press Release

Air Force Space Command names its 2010 Outstanding Airmen of the Year

By SpaceRef Editor
April 4, 2011
Filed under ,

by Capt. George Tobias Air Force Space Command Public Affairs

4/1/2011 – PETERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Colo. — Air Force Space Command named its 2010 Outstanding Airmen of the Year during a banquet held here April 1.

The award banquet at the Peterson Air Force Base Club capped a week of activities honoring the outstanding performers from around the command who demonstrated extraordinary leadership, job performance, community involvement and achievements.

“This past week’s events reflect the pride and appreciation our Command has for our OAY nominees,” said Gen. William L. Shelton, AFSPC commander. “These men and women epitomize the quality and commitment we expect from Airmen throughout AFSPC and our Air Force.”

The AFSPC 2010 OAY winners are:
Company Grade Officer of the Year, First Lt. Megan Sprang, 91st Network Warfare Squadron, Lakeland Air Force base, Texas

First Sergeant of the Year, Master Sgt. James Nelson, 3rd Combat Communications Support Squadron, Tinker Air Force Base, Okla.

Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year, Senior Master Sgt. Lonnie Bacon, Headquarters AFSPC, Directorate of Installations and Logistics, Peterson Air Force Base, Colo.

Noncommissioned Officer of the Year, Tech. Sgt. James Crutchfield, Space Development and Test Directorate, Kirtland Air Force Base, N.M.

Airman of the Year, Senior Airman Nora Limjoco, 30th Medical Operations Squadron, Vandenberg Air Force Base Calif.

These winners will go on to compete at the Air Force level for a chance to be named one of the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year.

The Air Force Association honors the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year at its annual convention in Washington, D.C. The program was initiated at the AFA’s 10th Annual National Conference, held in New Orleans in 1956. The selection board is comprised of the Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force, a general officer and selected major command command chiefs. The Air Force Chief of Staff reviews the selections. The 12 Outstanding Airmen are awarded the Outstanding Airman ribbon with the bronze service star device and wear the Outstanding Airman badge for one year. They also serve on the AFA’s enlisted advisory council for one year.

“I wish our AFSPC OAY winners the best of luck as they compete at the Air Force level,” said General Shelton.

SpaceRef staff editor.