Press Release

AIAA to Present Awards at 49th Joint Propulsion Conference

By SpaceRef Editor
June 12, 2013
Filed under ,

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) will present awards for technical excellence and sustained service at a noon luncheon on July 16 as part of the 49th AIAA/ASME/SAE/ASEE Joint Propulsion Conference & Exhibit, July 15-17 at the San Jose Convention Center, San Jose, Calif.

– Thomas Kaemming, research engineer, Innovative Scientific Solutions, Inc., and technical fellow (retired), The Boeing Company, St. Louis, Mo., will receive the 2013 AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award. The award is presented for meritorious accomplishments in the arts, sciences, and technology of air breathing propulsion systems. Kaemming is being recognized for outstanding technical contributions, creativity, and pioneering research that greatly contributed to the advancement of pulse detonation engines and high speed air breathing propulsion technology.

– James F. Driscoll, professor, aerospace engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich., will receive the 2013 2013 AIAA Propellants and Combustion Award. The award is presented for outstanding technical contributions to aeronautical or astronautical combustion engineering. Driscoll is being recognized for a distinguished record of technical contribution to combustion science and a sustained record of service and leadership in the propulsion and combustion community.

In addition, an AIAA Sustained Service Award will be presented to Kenneth H. Yu, associate professor, aerospace engineering, Department of Aerospace Engineering, University of Maryland, College Park, Md., for dedicated service to AIAA.

For more information about the AIAA Honors and Award program, please contact Carol Stewart at or 703.264.7623. For more information on the 49th AIAA/ASME/SAE/ASEE Joint Propulsion Conference & Exhibit, please visit, or contact Duane Hyland at 703.264.7558 or Registration is free for credentialed members of the press.

Follow the conference on Twitter at #aiaaPropEnergy

SpaceRef staff editor.