Press Release

AIAA Announces 2007 Honorary Fellows and Fellows

By SpaceRef Editor
November 29, 2006
Filed under ,

November 29, 2006 — Reston, VA — The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is proud to announce the election of the 2007 Honorary Fellows and Fellows. Presentation of the new Honorary Fellows and Fellows will take place at the Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala on Tuesday, May 15, 2007, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, Washington D.C.

Presented only to exceptional individuals who embody the highest standards possible in the aeronautics and astronautics field, Honorary Fellow is the highest accolade that can be bestowed by AIAA and its board of directors. Those chosen are recognized as being individuals of eminence with long and contributory careers in aerospace.  The 2007 Honorary Fellows are:

  • Jerry Grey, Aerospace Consultant
  • Malcolm O’Neill, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Michael Yarymovych, Sarasota Space Associates

The distinction of “Fellow” is bestowed by AIAA and its board of directors to members who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology thereof in aeronautics or astronautics. The 2007 Fellows are:

  • Frederick Abbink, National Aerospace Laboratory
  • William Anderson, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics
  • Ronald Adrian, Arizona State University
  • Monika Auweter-Kurtz, University of Hamburg
  • H. Wilhelm Behrens, Northrop Grumman Space Tech.
  • James Berry, Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
  • Kumar Bhatia, Boeing Commercial Airplanes
  • Robert Bishop, University of Texas at Austin
  • Robert Braun, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Richard Covey, United Space Alliance
  • Howard “Pat” Curtiss, Princeton University
  • Mark Drela, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Feri Farassat, NASA Langley Research Center
  • Wilson Felder, FAA
  • Alon Gany, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
  • William Gerstenmaier, NASA
  • Eveline Gottzein, Astrium GmbH
  • Stamatios Krimigis, Johns Hopkins Univ/Appl. Physics Lab.
  • Charles Liang, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics
  • Christian Mari, SNECMA
  • Laura McGill, Raytheon Missile Systems
  • Robert Ormiston, U.S. Army Research and Engr. Command
  • Daniel Raymer, Conceptual Research Corporation
  • Joseph Rich, Ohio State University
  • Wayne Solomon, University of Illinois-Urbana
  • Richard Stephens, The Boeing Company
  • Guy Thibodaux, Ramec Associates
  • Firdaus Udwadia, University of Southern California
  • William Vaughan, University of Alabama-Huntsville
  • John Young, DoD Dept. of Research and Engineering

  In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow and today, AIAA’s Honorary Fellows and Fellows are the most respected names in the aerospace industry.

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics advances the state of aerospace science, engineering, and technological leadership. Headquartered in suburban Washington, DC, the Institute serves over 35,000 members in 65 regional sections and 79 countries. AIAA membership is drawn from all levels of industry, academia, private research organizations, and government.  For more information contact Carol Stewart, AIAA manager, Honors and Awards,, or 703/264-7623.   

SpaceRef staff editor.