Press Release

2010 Planetary-Science Prize Winners Announced

By SpaceRef Editor
May 27, 2010
Filed under ,

The Division for Planetary Sciences (DPS) of the American Astronomical Society (AAS) is pleased to announce the 2010 Prize winners as follows:

Gerard P. Kuiper Prize for outstanding contributions to the field of planetary science: Jeff Cuzzi, NASA Ames Research Center

Harold C. Urey Prize for outstanding achievement in planetary research by a young scientist: Jonathan Fortney, University of California, Santa Cruz

Harold Masursky Award for outstanding service to planetary science and exploration: Alan Tokunaga, University of Hawaii

Carl Sagan Medal for outstanding communication by an active planetary scientist to the general public: Carolyn Porco, Space Science Institute

Jonathan Eberhart Planetary Sciences Journalism Award to recognize and stimulate distinguished popular writing on planetary sciences: George Musser, Scientific American.

The awards will be presented at the 42nd Annual Meeting of the DPS in Pasadena, California, 3-8 October 2010.

# # #

The DPS was formed in 1968 as a sub-organization within the AAS devoted to solar system research. Today it is the largest special interest Division of the AAS.

More information:

SpaceRef staff editor.