SpaceRef

SpaceRef


NOAA SEC Space Weather Outlook 03- 25

Status Report From: China National Space Administration
Posted: Tuesday, June 24, 2003

Official Space Weather Advisory issued by NOAA Space Environment Center

Boulder, Colorado, USA

SPACE WEATHER ADVISORY OUTLOOK #03- 25

2003 June 24 at 02:52 p.m. MDT (2003 June 24 2052 UTC)

**** SPACE WEATHER OUTLOOK ****

Summary For June 16-22

Space weather has reached strong levels. A category G2 (moderate) geomagnetic storm began on June 16th and 17th and increased to a category G3 (strong) geomagnetic storm on June 18th. The magnetic storm decrease to a category G1 (minor) level on June 19th. Radio blackouts reached the R2 (moderate) levels on June 17th due to an energetic solar flare that erupted at 4:55 P.M. MDT (2255 UTC). Radio blackouts at the R1 (minor) level occurred June 16th. For a list of adverse system effects related to space weather storms, please refer to the NOAA Space Weather Scales.

Outlook For June 25-July 1

Space weather is expected to be at minor to moderate levels. An active sunspot region is due to return to the visible side of the sun on June 27th and may have the potential to produce radio blackouts. The geomagnetic field may reach category G1 and G2 during the period due to a number of recurring coronal hole and their associated high speed solar winds.

Data used to provide space weather services are contributed by NOAA, USAF, NASA, NSF, USGS, the International Space Environment Services and other observatories, universities, and institutions. For more information, including email services, see SEC's Space Weather Advisories Web site http://sec.noaa.gov/advisories or (303) 497-5127. The NOAA Public Affairs contact is Barbara McGehan at Barbara.McGehan@noaa.gov or (303) 497-6288.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

SpaceRef Newsletter