SpaceRef

SpaceRef


Watch Live: Dragon Resupply Mission (CRS-16)

Status Report From: SpaceX
Posted: Tuesday, December 4, 2018

SpaceX is targeting Wednesday, December 5 for the launch of its sixteenth Commercial Resupply Services mission (CRS-16) to the International Space Station. Liftoff is targeted for 1:16 p.m. EST, or 18:16 UTC, from Space Launch Complex 40 (SLC-40) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. A backup launch opportunity is available on Friday, December 7 at 12:28 p.m. EST, or 17:28 UTC.

Dragon will be filled with more than 5,600 pounds of supplies and payloads, including critical materials to directly support more than 250 science and research investigations that will occur onboard the orbiting laboratory. Dragon will separate from Falcon 9’s second stage about 10 minutes after liftoff and attach to the space station on Saturday, December 8.

The Dragon spacecraft that will support the CRS-16 mission previously supported the CRS-10 mission in February 2017. Following stage separation, SpaceX will attempt to recover Falcon 9’s first stage on Landing Zone 1 (LZ-1) at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida.

SpaceX's live launch coverage will begin about 20 minutes before liftoff. Coverage of Dragon's rendezvous with the space station will begin at about 2:00 a.m. PST, or 10:00 UTC, on Saturday, December 8.

To watch SpaceX's live launch and rendezvous webcasts or to learn more about the mission, visit spacex.com/webcast.

// end //

More status reports and news releases or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.