Chairwomen Johnson and Horn Statement on a Successful SpaceX Crew-1 Mission

Press Release From: House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology
Posted: Tuesday, November 17, 2020

On Sunday, NASA astronauts Michael Hopkins, Victor Glover, and Shannon Walker, and astronaut Soichi Noguchi of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) were launched to the International Space Station on the first certified SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft. This is the first crew rotation mission of NASA’s Commercial Crew Program and the first commercial crew flight to include an international partner. Late last night, the spacecraft successfully docked to the ISS.

“Sunday’s launch marks the next chapter in American leadership and international cooperation in space,” said Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX). “The spacecraft name Resilience is a fitting tribute to the dedication of the federal, private, and international teams who contributed to today’s success. This is a major accomplishment for NASA’s Commercial Crew Program, and I want to congratulate all of those who made it possible.” 
“Congratulations to NASA and SpaceX on a successful flight to the International Space Station (ISS) for the Crew-1 mission,” said Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics Chairwoman Kendra Horn (D-OK). “Today’s arrival of NASA astronauts Michael Hopkins, Victor Glover, Shannon Walker, and Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) astronaut Soichi Noguchi marks the beginning of the United States’ return to safe and routine transportation of NASA astronauts to the ISS.” 

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.