Apollo 11 50th Anniversary Commemorative Coin Collection Sale Launches Thursday, January 24

Press Release From: Kennedy Space Center Visitor's Center
Posted: Wednesday, January 23, 2019

WHAT: A ceremony to launch the sale of the U.S. Mint’s new Apollo 11 50th Anniversary Commemorative Coin Collection, coin purchasing and astronaut autograph opportunities. Charlie Duke, Apollo 16 astronaut, will be the keynote speaker at the ceremony. The commemorative coin collection celebrates the 50th anniversary of the first manned Moon landing with four beautifully crafted commemorative curved coins: a five-dollar gold, silver dollar, clad half dollar and five-ounce proof silver dollar. 

Following the ceremony, the commemorative coins will be available for purchase at the Information Building at the front entrance of Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex or online through the U.S. Mint website. Those who purchase any coin(s) will receive one commemorative coin booklet. Limited quantities of the commemorative coins will be available for purchase. 

Veteran NASA astronauts Dan Brandenstein, Curt Brown, Tom Jones and Bruce Melnick will be available from 1 to 4 p.m. to sign commemorative booklets for those who purchased a coin in the Space Shop. Admission to Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex must be purchased to attend autograph signings. 

  **Interview opportunities will be available.**

WHEN:   Thursday, January 24

   Media Arrival: 11 a.m.

   Ceremony Begins: 11:30 a.m.

   Coins Available for Purchase: 12 p.m.

WHERE: Heroes & Legends Building 

WHO: Charlie Duke, Apollo 16 astronaut

Ann Starr, daughter of veteran NASA astronaut Mike Collins

Kathie Scobee Fulgham, daughter of Challenger STS-51L Commander Francis "Dick" Scobee and member of the Astronauts Memorial Foundation Board of Directors 

Tammy Sudler, president and chief executive officer, Astronaut Scholarship Foundation

Laura Cutchens, executive vice president of external affairs, Astronaut Scholarship Foundation

Thad Altman, executive director and CEO, Astronauts Memorial Foundation

Jack Kirschenbaum, chairman of the Astronauts Memorial Foundation Board of Directors

Elizabeth J. Wilson, assistant director of advancement, annual giving and operations, Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum 


To attend this event, please RSVP to: 

Bruce Miller at, (410) 616-8950

Kenna Pell at, (321) 603-9324

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.