SpaceRef

SpaceRef


Media Telecon on Status of James Webb Space Telescope, June 27th

Press Release From: NASA HQ
Posted: Tuesday, June 26, 2018

NASA will host a media teleconference at 1 p.m. EDT [17:00 UTC], Wednesday, June 27, to provide an update on the agency’s James Webb Space Telescope [https://www.nasa.gov/webb] and the findings of an external independent review board. Webb will be the world’s premier infrared space observatory and the largest astronomical space science telescope ever built.

Audio of the call will stream live on NASA’s website [https://www.nasa.gov/live].

Participants in the teleconference:
* Stephen Jurczyk, NASA associate administrator
* Thomas Zurbuchen, associate administrator of NASA’s Science Mission Directorate
* Tom Young, chair of the Independent Review Board
* John Mather, Webb senior project scientist at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center

To participate, media must email their name and affiliation to Steve Cole at stephen.e.cole@nasa.gov or call +1 202-358-0918 by 12 noon EDT [16:00 UTC] June 27.

Webb, a highly complex observatory, will solve mysteries of our solar system, look beyond to distant worlds around other stars, and probe the mysterious structures and origins of our universe. Webb is an international project led by NASA with its partners, ESA (European Space Agency) and the Canadian Space Agency.

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

SpaceRef Newsletter