SpaceRef

SpaceRef


Juno Spacecraft Closing in on Jupiter

Press Release From: Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Posted: Monday, July 4, 2016

NASA's Juno mission, launched nearly five years ago, will soon reach its destination: the most massive planet in our solar system, Jupiter. On the evening of July 4, at roughly 9 p.m. PDT (midnight EDT), the spacecraft will complete a 35-minute burn of its main engine, placing it in orbit around the king of planets. Below is a schedule of events that may be of interest to news media.

NASA TV Events Schedule (times are subject to change)

Monday, July 4 -- Orbit Insertion Day

9 a.m. PDT (noon EDT) -- Pre-orbit insertion briefing at JPL
7:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. PDT (10:30 p.m. to midnight EDT) -- Orbit insertion, NASA TV commentary begins
10 p.m. PDT (1 a.m. EDT on July 5) – post-orbit-insertion briefing

To cover these events from JPL, media must already be accredited with the JPL Media Relations Office. The deadline has passed. For all media briefings, reporters may arrange to ask questions by phone by calling JPL Media Relations at 818-354-5011.

To watch these events online, visit:

http://www.nasa.gov/nasatv

http://www.ustream.tv/nasa

http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2


Resources

A feed of cameras from JPL mission control, with mission audio only, will be available on the NASA TV Media Channel and Ustream at:

http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl


B-roll and animations for the Juno mission are available for download at:

www.youtube.com/jplraw


https://vimeo.com/jplraw


The Juno press kit is online at:

http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/news/press_kits/juno/


More information about Juno is online at:

http://www.nasa.gov/juno


https://solarsystem.nasa.gov/planets/jupiter/junotoolkit


For NASA TV streaming video, schedule and downlink information, visit:

http://www.nasa.gov/nasatv


JPL manages the Juno mission for NASA. The mission's principal investigator is Scott Bolton of Southwest Research Institute in San Antonio. The mission is part of NASA's New Frontiers Program, managed at the agency's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama, for NASA's Science Mission Directorate. Lockheed Martin Space Systems in Denver built the spacecraft.

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

SpaceRef Newsletter