Smith, Babin Congratulate NASA Commercial Cargo Awardees

Press Release From: House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology
Posted: Thursday, January 14, 2016

Washington, D.C. – Science, Space, and Technology Committee Chairman Lamar Smith (R-Texas) and Space Subcommittee Chairman Brian Babin (R-Texas) released the following statement today after NASA announced awardees for the next phase of the Commercial Cargo program.

Chairman Smith and Babin: “Congratulations to SpaceX, Orbital ATK, and Sierra Nevada on their awards for the next round of Commercial Cargo Resupply Contracts, which also supports our human spaceflight program. These companies and the thousands they employ have a crucial task before them as they supply the International Space Station.

“The Commercial Space Launch Competitiveness Act that was recently signed into law is a testament to Congress’s support of the commercial space industry that is vital to maintaining American space leadership. The House Science, Space, and Technology Committee will continue working closely with these contractors and NASA as we learn more details.”

The companies announced today will be contracted to ferry supplies to the International Space Station from 2016-2024.

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.