SpaceRef

SpaceRef


NASA to Announce Mars Mystery Solved

Press Release From: Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Posted: Thursday, September 24, 2015

**Nature Geoscience has Embargoed Details until 8 a.m. PDT/11 a.m. EDT Sept. 28)**

NASA will detail a major science finding from the agency's ongoing exploration of Mars during a news briefing at 8:30 a.m. PDT (11:30 a.m. EDT) on Monday, Sept. 28 at the James Webb Auditorium at NASA Headquarters in Washington. The event will be broadcast live on NASA Television and the agency's website.

News conference participants will be:
-- Jim Green, director of planetary science at NASA Headquarters
-- Michael Meyer, lead scientist for the Mars Exploration Program at NASA Headquarters
-- Lujendra Ojha of the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta
-- Mary Beth Wilhelm of NASA's Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, California and the Georgia Institute of Technology
-- Alfred McEwen, principal investigator for the High Resolution Imaging Science Experiment (HiRISE) at the University of Arizona in Tucson

A brief question-and-answer session will take place during the event with reporters on site and by phone. Members of the public also can ask questions during the briefing using #AskNASA.

To participate in the briefing by phone, reporters must email their name, media affiliation and telephone number to Steve Cole at stephen.e.cole@nasa.gov by 6 a.m. PDT (9 a.m. EDT) on Monday.

For NASA TV downlink information, schedules and to view the news briefing, visit:

http://www.nasa.gov/nasatv

The event will also be carried live on:

http://www.ustream.tv/NASAJPL

For more information about NASA's journey to Mars:

https://www.nasa.gov/topics/journeytomars

-end-

Guy Webster
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.
818-354-6278
guy.webster@jpl.nasa.gov

Dwayne Brown / Laurie Cantillo
NASA Headquarters, Washington
202-358-1726 / 202-358-1077
dwayne.c.brown@nasa.gov / laura.l.cantillo@nasa.gov

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.