IISL Board Elections and Awards at the Naples International Astronautical Congress

Press Release From: International Institute of Space Law
Posted: Tuesday, October 23, 2012

At its recent General Assembly in Naples, Italy, on 3 October 2012, a number of positions on the Board of Directors of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL) was open for (re-)election.

As a result of the elections, firstly Prof. Kai-Uwe Schrogl (Germany; currently Head ESA Policies Department) was elected as a new Vice President of the Institute.

Secondly, Prof. Setsuko Aoki (Japan), Dr. Tare Brisibe (Nigeria), Prof. Lesley Jane Smith (United Kingdom), Dr. Skip Smith (United States) and Dr. Les Tennen (United States) were elected as new Board Members, whilst Prof. Elisabeth Back- Impallomeni, Prof. Joanne Gabrynowicz, Prof. Haifeng Zhao and Prof. Maureen Williams were re-elected to the Board.

Thirdly, Prof. Jonathan Galloway, Prof. Toshio Kosuge and Dr. Sylvia Ospina were elected as Honorary Directors, in recognition of their longstanding and very valuable contributions to the IISL over the past decades.

Furthermore, Mrs. Corinne Jorgenson (United States), currently the IISL Executive Secretary, achieved the IISL Distinguished Service Award. Mrs. Jorgenson has been the editor of the IISL Proceedings for over a decade.

Finally, Dr. Olavo de Oliveira Bittencourt Neto (Brazil) received the Diederiks Award for the best paper by a young author. His paper was entitled "The Elusive Frontier: Revisiting the Delimitation of Outer Space ".

More information about IISL can be obtained by visiting the IISL website at

// end //

More news releases and status reports or top stories.

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and Like us on Facebook.

SpaceRef Newsletter